IPL 2024
Andre Russell Unleashes Carnage With Breathtaking Sixes Off Mayank Markande
By CricShots - Mar 23, 2024 10:38 pm
Views 9

Kolkata Knight Riders’ Andre Russell showcased his explosive batting prowess in the ongoing IPL 2024 clash against Sunrisers Hyderabad, turning the tide of the game with a scintillating fifty. Starting on a shaky note after losing four quick wickets, KKR found themselves at 51 for 4. However, Ramandeep Singh and Phil Salt initiated a recovery, guiding the team past the 100-run mark before departing in quick succession.

Andre Russell
Andre Russell smashed huge sixes

By the 14th over, KKR was struggling at 119 for 6. With the innings approaching its climax and wickets falling, KKR seemed destined for a subpar total. Yet, Andre Russell had different plans. The dynamic West Indian unleashed a brutal assault on the SRH bowlers, propelling KKR to a formidable total of 208 for 7 in 20 overs.

Russell’s onslaught was relentless as he raced to a blazing fifty off just 20 balls. His onslaught included three fours and an astonishing seven sixes, leaving the SRH bowlers hapless. Partnering with Rinku Singh, Russell orchestrated a crucial 81-run stand for the seventh wicket, altering the game’s trajectory significantly.

WATCH – Marco Jansen’s Spectacular Catch Dismisses Phil Salt in IPL 2024 Thriller

The 16th over, bowled by Mayank Markande, epitomized Russell’s dominance. The leg-spinner bore the brunt of Russell’s onslaught, conceding three towering sixes. Russell’s hits were colossal, with one soaring to a staggering 102 meters, showcasing his raw power and timing.


Phil Salt, in his KKR debut, complemented Russell’s fireworks with an impressive knock of 54 runs off 40 deliveries. Despite losing partners at the other end, Salt anchored the innings with three fours and three sixes, setting the stage for Russell’s explosive finish. As Russell’s whirlwind knock propelled KKR to a commanding total, it underscored his match-winning prowess and ability to single-handedly change the course of a game with his devastating batting display.

WATCH – Pat Cummins’ Spectacular Catch Dismisses Shreyas Iyer

Kolkata Knight Riders (Playing XI): Philip Salt (wk), Venkatesh Iyer, Shreyas Iyer (c), Nitish Rana, Rinku Singh, Ramandeep Singh , Andre Russell, Sunil Narine, Mitchell Starc, Harshit Rana, Varun Chakaravarthy

Sunrisers Hyderabad (Playing XI): Mayank Agarwal, Rahul Tripathi, Aiden Markram, Heinrich Klaasen (wk), Abdul Samad, Shahbaz Ahmed, Marco Jansen, Pat Cummins (c), Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mayank Markande, T Natarajan