IPL 2024
Pat Cummins’ Spectacular Catch Dismisses Shreyas Iyer
By CricShots - Mar 23, 2024 9:09 pm
Views 14

In a dramatic turn of events at the Eden Gardens, Sunrisers Hyderabad’s new captain, Pat Cummins, showcased his athleticism with a stunning catch to dismiss Kolkata Knight Riders’ skipper Shreyas Iyer in the IPL 2024 clash. This match marked Iyer’s return to the league amidst recent controversies and a dip in form, adding pressure to his performance.

Pat Cummins
Pat Cummins took an exceptional catch

Facing early batting struggles, Iyer’s arrival at the crease carried the weight of KKR’s hopes for a solid total. However, on just the 5th ball of the 4th over, a delivery from T Natarajan saw Iyer attempting a drive but failing to connect effectively. Despite the initial impression that the ball might clear the mid-off fielder, Cummins timed his jump impeccably, snaring the catch in mid-air.

WATCH – Sunil Narine’s Lack of Effort Highlights Bizarre Run-Out In IPL Match

The dismissal left both teams and fans stunned, especially considering the significance of Iyer’s wicket for KKR’s innings. While Cummins celebrated the crucial breakthrough, KKR mentor Gautam Gambhir’s disappointment was palpable.


Earlier, Sunrisers Hyderabad’s decision to field first after winning the toss showcased their confidence in the pitch conditions at the Eden Gardens. Speaking at the toss, Cummins expressed optimism within the team, setting the stage for an exciting encounter.

WATCH –  Rishabh Pant’s Alert Stumping Sends Jitesh Sharma Packing

As Shreyas Iyer’s struggles continue, questions loom over his form and impact in the ongoing IPL season. Meanwhile, Cummins’ spectacular catch served as a testament to his leadership and commitment on the field, marking an unforgettable moment in the tournament.

Kolkata Knight Riders (Playing XI): Philip Salt (wk), Venkatesh Iyer, Shreyas Iyer (c), Nitish Rana, Rinku Singh, Ramandeep Singh , Andre Russell, Sunil Narine, Mitchell Starc, Harshit Rana, Varun Chakaravarthy

Sunrisers Hyderabad (Playing XI): Mayank Agarwal, Rahul Tripathi, Aiden Markram, Heinrich Klaasen (wk), Abdul Samad, Shahbaz Ahmed, Marco Jansen, Pat Cummins (c), Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mayank Markande, T Natarajan