T20 World Cup 2022
Axar Patel Got Out After A Terrible Mix-up With Virat Kohli
By CricShots - Oct 23, 2022 4:57 pm
Views 45

India and Pakistan are locking horns with each other at the Melbourne cricket ground in the Super-12 stage of the T20 World Cup 2022. Team India was in some serious trouble after the powerplay while chasing a target of 160 runs as they were reeling at 31/3. However, A terrible mix-up between Virat Kohli and Axar Patel resulted in the latter getting dismissed and the men in blue lost their 4th wicket.

Axar Patel
Axar Patel got run-out after the mix-up

The men have done a decent job while bowling first thus far. Pakistan managed to score 159/8 in their quota of 20 overs, and the pacers were turning out to be impressive for both teams. Earlier in the game, the Indian skipper, Rohit Sharma won the toss and decided to bowl first citing the overcast conditions.

On the first ball of the 7th over, Axar Patel dabbed the ball towards midwicket and he was looking to steal a single but Virat Kohli sent in back after coming off half the pitch. On first look, it seemed like Mohammad Rizwan made a mess of the run-out as he fumbled to collect the throw from the skipper, Babar Azam.

WATCH – Hardik Pandya Takes A Dig At Haider Ali After Dismissing Him

With Axar Patel short of his ground, but the stumps were broken, but the third umpire, Richard Kettleborough wasn’t sure whether they were broken due to gloves or the ball. After a lot of replays, the umpire decided that the hit the stumps first.

Here is the video of the dismissal of Axar Patel:


View this post on Instagram


A post shared by ICC (@icc)


India (Playing XI): Rohit Sharma (c), KL Rahul, Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Hardik Pandya, Dinesh Karthik (wk), Axar Patel, Ravichandran Ashwin, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammed Shami, Arshdeep Singh

WATCH – Virender Sehwag opines on the importance of composure in India vs Pakistan game

Pakistan (Playing XI): Babar Azam (c), Mohammad Rizwan (wk), Shan Masood, Shadab Khan, Haider Ali, Iftikhar Ahmed, Mohammad Nawaz, Asif Ali, Shaheen Afridi, Naseem Shah, Haris Rauf

Here is how the Indian fans reacted to the dismissal: