Twitter Reaction
Axar Patel Hits The Bullseye Send Back Glenn Maxwell To The Pavilion
By CricShots - Sep 25, 2022 8:14 pm
Views 2.5K

India and Australia are locking horns with each other in the series decider of the three-match series at the Uppal stadium in Hyderabad. It rarely happens that a batter gets run-out in a controversial manner but the Aussie all-rounder, Glenn Maxwell got run-out after a brilliant throw from Axar Patel in a bizarre manner in spite of Dinesh Karthik dislodging a bail with his gloves.

Glenn Maxwell
Glenn Maxwell failed to contribute much

After leveling the series 1-1 in the last game in Nagpur, following the series trend, the Indian skipper, Rohit Sharma decided to field first after winning the toss. After the dismissal of both the openers, the platform was set for Glenn Maxwell to display his power-hitting as openers had provided an explosive start but a dramatic finish did his innings.

WATCH – Ajinkya Rahane Sent Yashasvi Jaiswal Off The Ground

Yuzvendra Chahal was bowling the 8th over of the innings and Glenn Maxwell was facing the fourth delivery of the over. The delivery was striding down the leg and the batter played it square off the wicket on on-side. Batters came back for the second run but Maxwell was slightly hesitant to run for the double.

Axar Patel produced a sensational direct hot throw from deep towards the striker’s end and a run-out was on the cards. The umpires went upstairs to confirm the dismissal but TV replays showed that Dinesh Karthik had dislodged a bail even before receiving the throw with his gloves.

ALSO READ: R Sridhar explains how Rishabh Pant got success in Australia

However, there was a twist after that. The direct throw hit the middle and leg dislodging the other bail and Maxwell was caught short of the crease. The third umpire announced his decision in favor of the fielding team and Maxwell was sent back to the pavilion.

India (Playing XI): Rohit Sharma (c), KL Rahul, Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Hardik Pandya, Dinesh Karthik (wk), Axar Patel, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Harshal Patel, Umesh Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal

Australia (Playing XI): Aaron Finch (c), Cameron Green, Steven Smith, Glenn Maxwell, Josh Inglis, Tim David, Matthew Wade (wk), Pat Cummins, Nathan Ellis, Adam Zampa, Josh Hazlewood

Here is how the fans reacted to the dismissal of Glenn Maxwell: