Axar Patel to replace Ravindra Jadeja in Kandy Test
By CricShots - Aug 10, 2017 11:33 am
Views 0


On Wednesday BCCI announced that the Indian all-rounder Axar Patel will replace Ravindra Jadeja for the third and final Test match between India and Sri Lanka, which is going to commence at Kandy from August 12.

Axar has represented India in 30 ODI matches and 7 T20Is. He has been successful in taking 35 scalps in the ODIs and 7 wickets in T20I at an average of 30.20 and 23.00 respectively.

Must read: Mistery of Team India jersey

Jadeja was banned for the Kandy Test match of the series as he received his sixth demerit point for throwing the ball back at the batsman in an aggressive manner. The match officials became angry on Jadeja when he fielded the ball off his own bowling and threw it at Malinda Pushpakumara, “in a dangerous manner”, as per the report of on-field umpires Rod Tucker and Bruce Oxenford.

The act basically was a breach of article 2.2.8 of the player’s Code of Conduct which is in regard with “throwing a ball (or any other item of cricket equipment such as a water bottle) at or near a Player, Player Support Personnel, Umpire, Match Referee or any other third person in an inappropriate and/or dangerous manner during an international match.”

Later on, Jadeja acknowledged his mistake still he had been banned for the Third Test. He also received the man of the match award for his match winning seven-wicket haul and the flamboyant half-century in the 2nd Test at the SSC stadium.

Team India is now having an unassailable lead of 2-0 in the 3-match Test series and they must be looking for a white-wash against the Lankans at their own backyard.

Indian Squad for 3rd Test match: Virat Kohli (captain), Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane (vice-captain), Rohit Sharma, R Ashwin, Axar Patel, Wriddhiman Saha (wicket-keeper), Ishant Sharma, Umesh Yadav, Hardik Pandya, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammed Shami, Kuldeep Yadav, Abhinav Mukund.