T20 World Cup 2022
Babar Azam Takes A Flying Catch To Send Back Chakabva For A Golden Duck
By CricShots - Oct 27, 2022 6:19 pm
Views 59

Pakistan is locking horns with Zimbabwe at the Optus Stadium in Perth in the Super 12 stage of the T20 World Cup 2022. Pakistan’s skipper, Babar Azam showcased his brilliance in the field with a flying catch in the slip to dismiss Regis Chakabva on Thursday. Chakabva, who had walked in to bat after Sean Williams was castled by Shadab Khan on the fifth ball of the 14th over, pressed forward while attempting to defend a floated leg-break.

Babar Azam
Babar Azam took an outstanding catch

However, Chakabva was beaten comprehensively to find an outside edge, and Babar Azam at slip flew across to his right to complete an outstanding one-handed catch. The skipper’s brilliance left his teammates thrilled, none as much as the bowler Shadab.

Mohammad Wasim Jr had the in-form Sikandar Raza caught by Haris Rauf at deep backward square leg in the third ball of the next over and castled Luke Jongwe off the very next ball as Zimbabwe stumbled from 95/3 to 95/7 within a space of an over.

WATCH – KL Rahul Fails To Take The DRS And Losses His Wicket

Earlier, Zimbabwe openers Wesley Madhevere and skipper Craig Ervine made a fluent start, adding 38 in the first four overs after the former opted to bat. Ervine was bounced out by Rauf on the final ball of the fifth over, while Wasim Jr had Madhevere leg-before after a successful review. Shadab had Milton Shumba caught off his own bowling for 8.

Here is the video of the catch from Babar Azam:


View this post on Instagram


A post shared by ICC (@icc)

Pakistan (Playing XI): Mohammad Rizwan (wk), Babar Azam (c), Shan Masood, Iftikhar Ahmed, Shadab Khan, Haider Ali, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Wasim Jr, Shaheen Afridi, Haris Rauf, Naseem Shah

WATCH – Dinesh Karthik Misses Stumpings, Fans Chant ‘Dhoni-Dhoni’

Zimbabwe (Playing XI): Wesley Madhevere, Craig Ervine (c), Milton Shumba, Sean Williams, Sikandar Raza, Regis Chakabva (wk), Ryan Burl, Luke Jongwe, Brad Evans, Richard Ngarava, Blessing Muzarabani