BCCI Announce Final Squad For The T20 World Cup, Shardul Replaces Axar
By CricShots - Oct 13, 2021 5:10 pm
Views 589

On Wednesday, the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has announced the final Indian squad for the upcoming T20 World Cup 2021 in the UAE and Oman. Surprisingly, Shardul Thakur has been added to teh main squad as a replacement of Axar Patel, who has now been added to teh list of standby players.

Shardul Thakur
Shardul Thakur

Former Indian skipper MS Dhoni has been named the mentor of Team India for the entirety of the upcoming T20 World Cup 2021.

Also Read: Ravichandran Ashwin misses out from 4th Test, experts react

Meanwhile, Shikhar Dhawan, who has a decent outing in the IPL 20201, couldn’t find his way into the squad. Whereas Shreyas Iyer along with Deepak Chahar are named in the reserves for the tournament with Axar in it as well. R Ashwin, however, is a regular in the Indian Premier League and will be playing for Delhi Capitals in the ongoing second leg of the IPL 2021.

Also Read: Ravichandran Ashwin should play, believes Farokh Engineer

Ravindra Jadeja, Varun Chakravarthy, and Rahul Chahar are other spin-bowling options in the squad. Ishan Kishan is picked as a backup wicketkeeper while Suryakumar Yadav’s recent heroics earned him a place in the squad.

rohit shikhar
Shikhar Dhawan

India will open their campaign against Pakistan on October 24 in Dubai.

India’s squad for ICC T20 World Cup: Virat Kohli (captain), Rohit Sharma (vice-captain), KL Rahul, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Ishan Kishan, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Rahul Chahar, Ravichandran Ashwin, Shardul Thakur, Varun Chakravarthy, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammad Shami

Stand-by players: Shreyas Iyer, Deepak Chahar, Axar Patel

Here is the list of other Indian cricketers who will be joining the team bubble in Dubai and assist Team India in their preparations:

Avesh Khan, Umran Malik, Harshal Patel, Lukman Meriwala, Venkatesh Iyer, Karn Sharma, Shahbaz Ahmed and K. Gowtham.