BCCI Announces INR 125 Crore Prize Money For Team India After T20 World Cup Triumph
By CricShots - Jun 30, 2024 8:48 pm
Views 33

Following India’s iconic victory at the Kensington Oval, Jay Shah, the secretary of the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI), announced a substantial prize of INR 125 Crores for the T20 World Cup 2024 champions. Shah’s tweet on X read, “I am pleased to announce prize money of INR 125 Crores for Team India for winning the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024. The team has showcased exceptional talent, determination, and sportsmanship throughout the tournament. Congratulations to all the players, coaches, and support staff for this outstanding achievement.”

Team India
Team India – T20I champions

Rohit Sharma and his team made history by becoming the first to win the T20 World Cup without losing a single game throughout the tournament. On Sunday, Jay Shah also released a media statement, congratulating the ‘Men in Blue’ on their remarkable achievement.

“Under the exceptional leadership of Rohit Sharma, this team has shown remarkable resolve and resilience, becoming the first team in the history of the ICC T20 World Cup to win the tournament unbeaten,” Shah’s statement read.

ALSO READ: Ravindra Jadeja Announces Retirement From T20I Cricket After India’s Historic T20 World Cup Win

Team India, who faced significant criticism after losing the 2023 ODI World Cup final at home against Australia, found redemption with this win against South Africa. The entire country celebrated this momentous occasion in style, marking a significant comeback for the team.


“They have faced and silenced their critics with stellar performances time and again. Their journey has been nothing short of inspirational, and today, they join the ranks of the greats, achieving something truly special that brings immense pride and joy to all Indians,” added Jay Shah in his statement.

ALSO READ: Rohit Sharma Announces Retirement From T20I Cricket After India’s Historic T20 World Cup Win

“It fills me with great pride to speak about such an extraordinary team. However, it is this team that has made us all proud with their dedication, hard work, and unyielding spirit. Led by Rohit Sharma, and ably assisted by Virat Kohli, Jasprit Bumrah, and others, they have fulfilled the dreams and aspirations of 1.4 billion Indians,” the statement concluded.

This triumph stands as a testament to the team’s unity, perseverance, and outstanding skill, bringing immense joy and pride to every Indian cricket fan.