BCCI Nominates Jasprit Bumrah For Arjuna Award?
By CricShots - May 13, 2020 6:44 pm
Views 55

India’s pace spearhead Jasprit Bumrah is expected to be nominated by the BCCI for the prestigious Arjuna Award this year after missing out on seniority to Ravindra Jadeja in 2019. The BCCI officials are expected to finalize the nominations for the men’s and women’s categories later this month but Bumrah’s stupendous performance in the last four years makes him the most worthy candidate.

Jasprit Bumrah

If BCCI decides to send more than one name the men’s category, senior opener Shikhar Dhawan could also be preferred as he missed out in 2018 despite the Board sending his nomination. One of the sources of PTI in BCCI said, “Last year, we had sent three names in men’s section — Bumrah, Ravindra Jadeja and Mohammed Shami. That’s why Bumrah, who completed three years of international cricket last year, missed out to Jadeja, who is senior as well as a consistent performer for many years.”

ALSO READ: Greg Chappell Helped MS Dhoni To Become A Finisher?

Jasprit Bumrah has scalped 68 wickets from 14 Tests, 104 wickets from 64 ODIs, and 59 wickets from 50 T20Is, making for a phenomenal four years in Indian colors.

Describing the same, the source said, “He certainly has the best credentials. He was ICC’s No 1 ranked ODI bowler. He is the only Asian bowler to pick up five-wicket hauls in South Africa, England, Australia, and West Indies.”

Ravindra Jadeja

It is highly unlikely that BCCI will send Mohammed Shami’s name this time around as the police case filed against him by his estranged wife alleging domestic violence and adultery means that he won’t be eligible. In the case of Dhawan, his seniority is a factor as all his contemporaries (Virat Kohli, Ravichandran Ashwin, Rohit Sharma, Ajinkya Rahane, Cheteshwar Pujara, and Jadeja) have got the award.

Talking about Dhawan, the source said, “In 2018, we had sent Dhawan’s name for the nomination but only Smriti (Mandhana) got the award. So BCCI can send both Bumrah and Dhawan’s names.”

ALSO READ: Nasser Hussain Feels Split Captaincy Will Not Suit Virat Kohli

In the women’s section, all-rounder Deepti Sharma, for her consistent show over the past four years including India’s highest ODI score of 188, is one of the names along with fast bowler Shikha Pandey, who is also a Squadron Leader with the Indian Airforce.