Champions Trophy 2017 : South Africa announce their squad for the ICC Tournament.
By CricShots - Apr 19, 2017 5:45 pm
Views 60

South Africa have announced their squad for the upcoming Champions Trophy, a 50-over trophy to be held in England from the 1st June to 18th June, 2017. South Africa, along with  three Asian Nations, India, Sri Lanka and Pakistan will complete the group B and will play Sri Lanka, Pakistan and India on 3rd June, 7th June and 11th June respectively. England, Australia, Bangladesh and New Zealand are the four other Teams in Group A. Two Teams from each group will qualify for the Semi-Finals to be played on the 14th and 15th June, following which, the final on the 18th June will conclude the tournament.

Coming back to the South African squad, Morne Morkel, the lanky pacer who was sidelined because of a career-threatening back injury, has been recalled and will be a huge boost to an already potent attack. Keshav Maharaj, the uncapped spinner, has been preferred ahead of the slow left-arm Shamsee, and will assist the intrinsic leg-spinner Imran Tahir in the spin department. In spite of having an injury-prone last season and now the IPL, AB Devilliers has been deemed fit to lead the side for the coveted ICC tournament.

Chris Morris, Wayne Parnell, Andile Phehlukwayo and Dwaine Pretorius, the quartet of bowling all-rounders have all found a place in the squad that will travel to England in the last week of July. Before that, South Africa’s tour to England will begin in May. Quinton De Kock, the wicket-keeper batsman, an automatic choice, along with Hashim Amla, Faf Du Plessis, JP Duminy and David Miller complete the Batting depatmenr. Kagiso Rabada, one of the most exciting prospects as far as fast bowling is concerned will also be a part of the squad. Farhaan Behardien, the batting all-rounder too, has been selected in the squad.

In a nutshell, there are no real surprises in the squad. South Africa will be excited and anxious, going into the tournament, considering the tag they are known for. ABD and his Team will be eager and desperate to shed it off their reputation, and emerge victorious!!!

Squad for Champions Trophy, 2017 :

  1. Hashim Amla.
  2. Quinton De Kock. (Wicket-Keeper)
  3. Faf Du Plessis.
  4. AB de Villiers. (Captain)
  5. JP Duminy.
  6. David Miller.
  7. Chris Morris.
  8. Wayne Parnell.
  9. Andile Phehlukwayo.
  10. Kagiso Rabada.
  11. Imran Tahir.
  12. Keshav Maharaj.
  13. Dwaine Pretorius.
  14. Farhaan Behardien.
  15. Morne Morkel.