UPDATED: Complete Schedule Of The Nidahas Trophy 2018
By CricShots - Feb 20, 2018 12:20 pm
Views 178

The commencement of the tri-nation Nidahas Trophy has been preponed by two days and the event will now get underway on March 6 instead of March 8 as per the earlier schedule. India and Sri Lanka will play the series opener, with Bangladesh being the third participating country in the tournament. All games including the final will be played at the R. Premadasa Stadium (RPS) and will start at 7 PM local time.

India and Sri Lanka will play the series opener of the Nidahas Trophy 2018

Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) officials have confirmed that by preponing the competition by two days, they will now be able to host the final on Sunday as compared to the earlier schedule which had the final slated for Tuesday.

Also read: Thisara Perera’s Special Invitation For Team India

As per the sources of Cricbuzz, both the visiting countries will arrive in the island on March 4. While Bangladesh will play a warm-up match ahead of the tournament, India would begin the competition without any practice match.

India and Bangladesh will also lock horns in the tournament

The tournament including seven matches is being organized to celebrate Sri Lanka’s 70th year of independence. SLC is expecting a financial blessing through the sale of television and media rights. SLC President Thilanga Sumathipala during a media release asserted that the board was expecting a minimum of USD 6.5 million through the sale of rights.

Also read: Sanjay Manjrekar Gives Crucial Advice To Indian Team Management

Nidahas Trophy 1998

In 1998, the Nidahas Trophy was last played in order to celebrate Sri Lanka’s golden jubilee of independence and it was played between India, Sri Lanka, and New Zealand. The Asian neighbors reached the final and India while batting first gave a target of 308 runs. Despite a 94-ball 105 by Aravinda de Silva, the hosts fell short by seven runs in front of their home crowd

Full Schedule (All games at R. Premadasa Stadium, Colombo)

First game: March 6- Sri Lanka vs India

Second game: March 8- India vs Bangladesh

Third game: March 10- Sri Lanka vs Bangladesh

Fourth game: March 12- Sri Lanka vs India

Fifth game: March 14- India vs Bangladesh

Sixth game: March 16- Sri Lanka vs Bangladesh

Final: March 18

Time- 19:00 PM local time