IPL 2023
CSK Releases DJ Bravo, SRH Decides Not To Retain Kane Williamson
By CricShots - Nov 15, 2022 7:25 pm
Views 62

Four-time IPL Champions Chennai Super Kings (CSK) have released former West Indies all-rounder, Dwayne Bravo ahead of the mini-auction for next year’s season. Bravo was brought back to CSK during the mega-auction ahead of the 2022 season after some intense bidding that saw Delhi Capitals (DC) and Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) show interest in the former West Indies all-rounder.

Dwayne Bravo
Dwayne Bravo is known for his celebration

Ultimately, Chennai won the bid for 4.4 Cr rupees. Bravo played 10 matches last season and picked up 16 wickets as the four-time IPL Champions finished ninth on the table, ahead of Mumbai Indians (MI). Throughout his IPL career, Bravo has played in 161 matches and picked up 183 wickets during that time frame. 

ALSO READ: Shubman Gill Clarifies About Dating Rumors With Sara Ali Khan

CSK also went on to release Adam Milne, Chris Jordan, N Jagadeesan, C Hari Nishaanth, K Bhagat Varma, KM Asif. The four-time Champions decided to keep faith in Ambati Rayudu and Ravindra Jadeja in their squad for the upcoming season with the likes of Moeen Ali and Devon Conway also retained.

New Zealand captain Kane Williamson hasn’t been retained by the Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) as the former IPL champions have released the premier batter ahead of the mini-auction on Tuesday. The Hyderabad-based franchise has parted ways with New Zealand’s all-format skipper, who spent eight years at the IPL franchise. The talismanic batter of the Orange Army was re-appointed as the leader of the Hyderabad giants in the 2021 edition of the IPL.

ALSO READ: Wasim Akram Lashes Out At A Fan For A Bogus Comment On Shaheen Afridi

Williamson had guided SRH to the IPL 2018 final in the absence of veteran opener David Warner, who was serving a two-year ban imposed by Cricket Australia (CA) at the time. Leading SRH from the front, Williamson had amassed 735 runs at an average of 52.50 in 2018. The premier batter also achieved an impressive strike rate of 142.44 in the 2018 season.

Leading the Orange Army in the 2022 edition of the cash-rich league, Williamson only managed to score 216 runs in 13 innings. The Hyderabad giants will have a new captain for the 2023 edition of the cash-rich league following Williamson’s departure ahead of the mini-auction.

SRH released players – Kane Williamson, Nicholas Pooran, Jagadeesha Suchith, Priyam Garg, Ravikumar Samarth, Romario Shepherd, Saurabh Dubey, Sean Abbott, Shashank Singh, Shreyas Gopal, Sushant Mishra, Vishnu Vinod

SRH’s retained squad: Abdul Samad, Aiden Markram, Rahul Tripathi, Glenn Phillips, Abhishek Sharma, Marco Jansen, Washington Sundar, Fazalhaq Farooqi, Kartik Tyagi, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, T Natarajan, Umran Malik.

CSK remaining purse – INR 42.25 crores

CSK Released players: Dwayne Bravo, Adam Milne, Chris Jordan, N Jagadeesan, C Hari Nishaanth, K Bhagat Varma, KM Asif, Robin Uthappa (Retired)

CSK’s retained squad – MS Dhoni (C & WK), Ravindra Jadeja, Devon Conway, Moeen Ali, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shivam Dube, Ambati Rayudu, Dwaine Pretorius, Maheesh Theekshana, Prashant Solanki, Deepak Chahar, Mukesh Choudhary, Simarjeet Singh, Tushar Deshpande, Rajvardhan Hangargekar, Mitchell Santner, Matheesha Pathirana, Subhranshu Senapati

CSK remaining purse – INR 20.45 Crores