David Warner to Miss T20Is Against India Due To Workload Management
By CricShots - Nov 21, 2023 11:59 am
Views 13

Following the grueling ODI World Cup, Australia will be without several key players, including veteran opener David Warner, for the upcoming five-match T20I series against India. Warner, who amassed a remarkable 535 runs in 11 matches during the World Cup, is one of several senior cricketers who will miss the series as part of workload management strategies.

David Warner
David Warner

Pat Cummins, Mitchell Starc, Josh Hazlewood, and Mitchell Marsh are among the other notable absentees. Cricket Australia has confirmed that Warner will return home after the World Cup, joining the likes of skipper Pat Cummins, Mitchell Starc, Josh Hazlewood, and Mitchell Marsh among a few others.

“Selectors decided Warner would return home on the back of a successful yet demanding World Cup campaign,” a statement read of Cricket Australia.

ALSO READ: Sanju Samson’s Omission From India’s T20 Squad Sparks Netizens’ Outrage

Aaron Hardie has been called up to the squad to replace Warner. The 24-year-old made his international debut in the series against South Africa earlier in the year but hasn’t been successful enough. However, he has a terrific record in the Big Bash League, which should give him the confidence to do well.


On the other hand, Kane Richardson has replaced Spencer Johnson, who is currently recovering from a hamstring injury. Richardson has represented Australia in 35 T20I matches, picking up 44 wickets in the process.

Head coach Andrew McDonald too will be missing the T20I series against India. After a successful World Cup campaign, the 42-year-old has been given a break as Andre Borovec has been announced as the stand-in coach for the series. Travis Head has been appointed as the skipper in the absence of skipper Pat Cummins.

ALSO READ: Aakash Chopra Opines Mohammed Siraj Was Marginalized In World Cup Final

Meanwhile, Glenn Maxwell, Travis Head, Adam Zampa, Steven Smith, Josh Inglis, Sean Abbott and Marcus Stoinis have decided to play the T20I series despite being part of Australia’s World Cup campaign squad. However, all these cricketers are not expected to play all five matches, given that the cricketers barely got any rest in between a hectic tournament.

Australia T20I squad: Matthew Wade (c), Aaron Hardie, Jason Behrendorff, Sean Abbott, Tim David, Nathan Ellis, Travis Head, Josh Inglis, Glenn Maxwell, Tanveer Sangha, Matt Short, Steve Smith, Marcus Stoinis, Kane Richardson, Adam Zampa.