Twitter Reaction
Sanju Samson’s Omission From India’s T20 Squad Sparks Netizens’ Outrage
By CricShots - Nov 21, 2023 11:12 am
Views 85

Embracing a new era, India has unveiled its squad for the upcoming T20I series against Australia, featuring a fresh captain and several new faces. Following the conclusion of the World Cup 2023, the Selection Committee has opted to rest a majority of the players who participated in the tournament.

Sanju Samson
Sanju Samson

In a significant move, captain Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, and KL Rahul will be absent from the series. Stepping into Rohit’s shoes, Suryakumar Yadav will lead the Indian side for the first time, marking a new chapter in Indian cricket.

While fans eagerly anticipate the upcoming series, the omission of Sanju Samson from the squad has raised eyebrows. Samson, who leads the Rajasthan Royals franchise in IPL, was also excluded from the World Cup 2023 squad and the ODI series against Australia.

ALSO READ: Suryakumar Yadav Named India’s Captain For T20 Series Against Australia 





In the absence of KL Rahul, Jitesh Sharma will take on the role of wicketkeeper. Joining Suryakumar Yadav and Prasidh Krishna is Ishan Kishan, who awaits an opportunity to showcase his batting prowess after limited chances in the World Cup 2023. Axar Patel, who was sidelined from the World Cup due to an injury, is poised for his comeback.

ALSO READ: Aakash Chopra Opines Mohammed Siraj Was Marginalized In World Cup Final

Ruturaj Gaikwad, who captained India in the Asian Games, will assume the role of vice-captain for the first three matches. Shreyas Iyer will join the squad as vice-captain for the final two T20Is in Raipur and Bengaluru. With a new captain and fresh faces, India gears up for the upcoming T20I series against Australia, promising a dynamic and exciting brand of cricket.

India’s squad: Suryakumar Yadav (Captain), Ruturaj Gaikwad (vice-captain), Ishan Kishan, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Tilak Varma, Rinku Singh, Jitesh Sharma (wk), Washington Sundar, Axar Patel, Shivam Dubey, Ravi Bishnoi, Arshdeep Singh, Prasidh Krishna, Avesh Khan, Mukesh Kumar

Schedule of Australia’s T20I series in India, 2023

  • 23rd November, 1st T20I in Visakhapatnam
  • 26th November, 2nd T20I in Thiruvananthapuram
  • 28th November, 3rd T20I in Guwahati
  • 1st December, 4th T20I in Raipur
  • 3rd December, 5th T20I in Bengaluru