Dhoni and Kohli will be on the cusp of record in Cape Town ODI
By Aditya Pratap - Feb 6, 2018 4:22 pm
Views 81

Team India is playing some exceptional cricket in the rainbow nation, where they have already taken a 2-0 lead in the six-match series. India outplayed South Africa in both bowling and batting department, while the hosts played follow-up game in the first two matches.

The formula of two wrist spinners has worked wonder for team India in recent time and it proved worthy here again. Both have snared 13 wickets in the series so far. On the other hand, batsmen have also clicked in both matches. First, it was Virat Kohli and Ajinkya Rahane in Durban and then Shikhar Dhawan along with Indian skipper to chase the target down for visitors.

Also Read: Du Plessis feels India is too much depended over Kohli

Meanwhile, MS Dhoni, Kohli and Rahane are on the cusp of records before the third One-Day International between both teams. Team India, too, will be eyeing to create history by winning three successive matches in an ODI series in South Africa. Two is their best performance, which they recorded during 2010-11 series in the rainbow nation.

Dhoni is 98 runs short to join an elite 10,000-run club in the ODI cricket, which only 11 other batsmen managed to crack. Currently, he has 9,902 at an average of 51.57 at a strike-rate of 88. He will become the fourth Indian batsmen to climb this peek after Sachin Tendulkar, Rahul Dravid and Sourav Ganguly.

On the other hand, Rahane needs 99 runs to complete his 3,000 One-Day International runs. He will become 20th Indian and 148th overall to reach this landmark.

If Kohli takes one catch in next game, he will pip Jonty Rhodes to 3rd place among the non-wicketkeepers for most catches in India-South Africa ODIs. Graeme Smith (19) and Rahul Dravid (17) are top-two fielders in this rivalry.

Also Read: Kohli's post-match comments 

The third ODI will undergo in Newlands Cape Town, where South Africa will field with a paper-thin middle-order. Quinton de Kock is ruled out of the remaining series and stand-in skipper Aiden Markram will open along with Hashim Amla.