News
DRS Drama: The Intricate Reason Behind Tom Hartley’s ‘Not Out’ Decision In Vizag Test
By CricShots - Feb 5, 2024 2:43 pm
Views 20

On Day 4 of the second Test between India and England, confusion reigned supreme as Ravichandran Ashwin was denied his 500th Test wicket due to a perplexing Decision Review System (DRS) call. The incident unfolded in the second session of the fourth day in Vizag.

DRS drama
Ravichandran Ashwin almost got his 500th wicket if not got the DRS drama

India’s off-spinner, Ravichandran  Ashwin, appeared to dismiss England’s Tom Hartley in the final innings of the match. Umpire Chris Gaffaney gave his decision in favour of India, signalling Hartley out. However, the England spinner promptly referred the decision to the third umpire.

WATCH – Shreyas Iyer’s Sharp Fielding Dismisses Ben Stokes With A Run Out

Upon drama around DRS review, it was revealed that the ball had struck Hartley’s forearm, with both the impact on the forearm and hitting the stumps adjudged as ‘umpire’s call.’ Despite the initial decision, the third umpire overturned the on-field call and deemed it not out.

 

The turn of events left the Indian team visibly confused, prompting them to question the on-field umpire’s decision. Commentators Eoin Morgan and Ravi Shastri found themselves unable to provide a clear explanation, contributing to the overall bewilderment surrounding the incident.

ALSO READ: Reason Behind Shubman Gill Missing Fielding Duties In 2nd Test Against England

Breaking down the sequence of events:

  1. The ball hit Hartley’s forearm and bounced up, resulting in a catch at leg slip.
  2. Initially called ‘Caught Behind,’ Hartley referred the decision to check for a possible edge.
  3. The third umpire, finding no edge, altered the on-field call to ‘NOT OUT.’
  4. Importantly, the LBW decision was not under question, as the on-field umpire had called ‘NOT OUT’ for the ball hitting Hartley’s hand and the subsequent impact on the stumps falling under ‘UMPIRE’s CALL.’

The confusion stemming from this incident added an unexpected twist to the proceedings, leaving players, fans, and commentators grappling for clarity.