Gautam Gambhir Touted To Fight Lok Sabha Elections For BJP
By CricShots - Mar 11, 2019 2:26 pm
Views 44
Share Post

Former India opener Gautam Gambhir is soon be expected to join politics after winding up a long cricket career recently. He is expected to fight the upcoming Lok Sabha elections on the ticket from Bhartiya Janta Party (BJP).

Gautam Gambhir touted to become a politician soon

Gambhir started playing cricket for Delhi, played 58 Tests, 147 ODIs and 37 T20Is for the Indian team in a career lasting from 2004-2016. He was also a part of the Indian team which won the World T20 in 2007 and played an amazing knock of 97 in the ICC World Cup 2011 finals against Sri Lanka, which was won by India as well.

Gautam Gambhir has been seen expressing his opinion on social and national interest issues. He is also a huge supporter of the Indian Army. Earlier, he has denied any chances of joining the politics and joining the ranks of former cricketers like Navjot Singh Sidhu, Kirti Azad, Mohammad Azharuddin, and Chetan Chauhan, who have successful political careers.

ALSO READ: Gautam Gambhir Lashes Out At Attackers For Manhandling The Kashmiris

Recently, the southpaw cricketer had revealed that he will bear the educational expenses of the children of Pulwama terror-attack victims. Gambhir also runs a community kitchen in West Delhi’s Patel Nagar area on a daily basis. Recently he was seen doing commentating duties for ongoing India versus Australia limited overs series.

Gautam Gambhir

According to the recent reports of Times of India (T0I), the BJP thinktank looking forward to joining of Gambhir is eager on the 37-year-old Gambhir joining their party and top leaders have had talks with the former cricketer with a decision to be taken soon. Gambhir has been highly critical of the reigning Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) in the capital over various issues and this sparked the fuel in the rumors of him joining politics.

Gautam had also supported journalist Rajat Sharma for becoming the Delhi & District Cricket Association (DDCA) president. Rajat Sharma won the elections, beating former Indian fast bowler Madan Lal.