IPL 2024
Harsha Bhogle’s IPL 2024 Team of the Tournament: A Comprehensive Analysis
By CricShots - May 28, 2024 2:44 pm
Views 23

Veteran cricket commentator Harsha Bhogle recently unveiled his team for the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2024. His selection includes a balanced mix of seasoned Indian players and dynamic foreign talents, with four overseas players making the cut. Notably, three of these foreign players hail from the cricketing powerhouse of the West Indies. At the top of the order, Bhogle chose Virat Kohli and Sunil Narine as openers.

Virat Kohli
Virat Kohli 

Virat Kohli’s inclusion is hardly surprising given his exceptional form throughout the tournament, where he emerged as the leading run-scorer, earning the prestigious Orange Cap for the second time in his illustrious IPL career. Kohli accumulated a staggering 741 runs from 15 matches, boasting an impressive average of 61.75. His consistency and commanding presence at the crease were pivotal for his team.

Sunil Narine, known for his all-round capabilities, proved to be a crucial asset yet again. Narine’s dual prowess was on full display as he amassed 488 runs and took 17 wickets, clinching the Most Valuable Player award for the third time in the IPL. His performances were instrumental in propelling the Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) to their third IPL title. The middle order features the Rajasthan Royals duo of Sanju Samson and Riyan Parag.

WATCH – SRH Owner Kavya Maran Praises Players Despite IPL 2024 Final Defeat, Expresses Heartfelt Thanks

Samson continued to shine, scoring 573 runs, while Parag made significant contributions with 531 runs, playing key roles in leading their team to the Qualifier 2 stage. Nicholas Pooran, representing the West Indies, had his best IPL season to date, smashing 499 runs at a phenomenal strike rate of 178.21, showcasing his explosive batting prowess. Andre Russell, another West Indies star, didn’t dominate with the bat but delivered crucial cameos that often changed the game’s momentum.

More importantly, he excelled with the ball, taking 19 wickets from 14 matches with an impressive average of 15.53, demonstrating his value as a genuine all-rounder. Dinesh Karthik, despite a disappointing IPL 2023, made a stunning comeback in 2024. The veteran wicketkeeper-batsman scored 326 runs at a blistering strike rate of 187.36, rediscovering his form and providing stability in the middle order.

The bowling lineup is spearheaded by India’s pace sensation Jasprit Bumrah, who was in lethal form, claiming 20 wickets from 13 matches at an average of 16.80. His ability to deliver in crucial moments reinforced his status as one of the premier bowlers in the world. Varun Chakaravarthy, selected as the sole spinner, had a standout season with 21 wickets, making him the second-highest wicket-taker of the tournament.

ALSO READ: Rinku Singh Eyes T20 World Cup 2024 For India Glory Despite Squad Snub

Trent Boult, although not at his peak, managed to secure a place in Bhogle’s XI with 16 wickets from 16 matches. The New Zealand fast bowler had a somewhat mixed season but his experience and occasional brilliance ensured his inclusion. Rounding out the team is T Natarajan from Sunrisers Hyderabad, who had a remarkable season with 19 wickets from 14 matches, averaging 24.47. His left-arm pace and ability to bowl in the death overs made him a crucial part of his team’s bowling attack.

Harsha Bhogle’s IPL 2024 team of the tournament: Virat Kohli, Sunil Narine, Sanju Samson, Riyan Parag, Nicholas Pooran, Andre Russell, Dinesh Karthik, Jasprit Bumrah, Varun Chakaravarthy, Trent Boult, T Natarajan