ICC Takes Strict Actions Against David Warner and Quinton de Kock
By CricShots - Mar 7, 2018 5:43 am
Views 0

Australia’s deputy skipper David Warner and South Africa wicket-keeper batsman Quinton de Kock has been charged by the International Cricket Council (ICC) on Tuesday for their heated off-field exchange on Day 4 of the first Test in Durban between Australia and South Africa.

De Kock and Warner were seen engaging in an altercation

CCTV footage from the players tunnel at Kingsmead on Sunday showed Warner and De Kock involved in a heated argument as players climbed the staircase to their change rooms during the tea break.

Also read: Reason For Verbal Banter Between Warner and De Kock Revealed

But in the wake of the incident, the South Africans declared both sides got personal on the field, a claim Australia skipper Steve Smith denied after his side wrapped up a 118-run win at Kingsmead yesterday.

ICC’s release on Tuesday regarding the incident stated, “The umpires officiating in the Durban Test have reported Warner for a level 2 offense and De Kock for a level 1 offense for ‘conduct that brings the game into disrepute’.”

David Warner and Steve Smith

The teams have been given until Wednesday to respond to the charges given by match referee Jeff Crowe.

Warner will face a suspension from the second Test in Port Elizabeth. A level 2 charge brings with it up to four demerit points that could result in a one-Test or two limited-overs matches ban. He could also be fined 100 percent of his match fee from the first Test.

Four players in the series, excluding Warner and de Kock, have demerit points on their records. Proteas seamer Kagiso Rabada has five demerit points on his record, Du Plessis has three points, while Australia’s Tim Paine and Nathan Lyon have one point each.

Also read: Darren Lehmann Came In Support Of David Warner

However, Australia’s deputy skipper Warner received the full backing of his coach Darren Lehmann, who said they were “certainly supporting David”.

Australia won the opening Test of the four-match series by 118 runs. The second Test begins on March 9.