ICC Includes Virat Kohli In The Best XI Of T20 World Cup 2022
By CricShots - Nov 14, 2022 12:48 pm
Views 53

The month-long T20 World Cup 2022 concluded on Sunday at the Melbourne Cricket Ground with England being crowned as the champions for the second time in history. Under the captaincy of Jos Buttler, England was pushed on backfoot by a fiery Pakistan pace attack in the final making 138 a competitive total at the MCG. But Ben Stokes rose to the occasion, yet again for England, to wrap up the chase in the penultimate over. A day after the big final, ICC revealed the Team of the Tournament for the T20 World Cup.

Hardik Pandya
Hardik Pandya and Virat Kohli

The team comprises four cricketers from the champion England side, two apiece from Pakistan and India, and one each from South Africa, Zimbabwe, and New Zealand. ICC also announced a 12th man on the side, which is also from the Indian side.

ALSO READ: Sarfaraz Khan was Admitted To Hospital After Suffering From Kidney Stone

Virat Kohli and Suryakumar Yadav are the two-star batters from India who make the XI from India. Kohli has had an impressive campaign in Australia in the World Cup, scoring 296 runs, to emerge as the leading run-getter for the second time in a T20 World Cup edition, at a sensational average of 98.66 and laced with four fifties which included that breathtaking knock of 82* against Pakistan at the start of India’s tournament.

Suryakumar Yadav
Suryakumar Yadav has been in an extraordinary form

Suryakumar, who finished as the second-highest run-getter with his tally of 239 runs that came at a fiery strike rate of 189.68, is the other India batter to make the XI. The tournament also saw him rise to the top spot in the ICC T20I ranking for batters.

ICC also included all-rounder Hardik Pandya as the 12th man in the squad as he also witnessed a superb outing in the tournament in Australia where he picked eight wickets in six matches and was the team’s third-highest run-scorer.

ALSO READ: Mohammed Shami Sarcastically Replies To Shoaib Akhtar After Pakistan’s Final Loss

Here’s the T20 World Cup Team of the Tournament: Alex Hales, Jos Buttler, Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Glenn Philips, Sikandar Raza, Shadab Khan, Sam Curran, Anrich Nortje, Mark Wood, Shaheen Shah Afridi. (12th man – Hardik Pandya)