ICC ODI World Cup Super League – Each And Every Details
By CricShots - Jul 29, 2020 11:49 am
Views 98
Share Post

On Monday, the International Cricket Council (ICC) announced the launch of the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup Super League which will be the first step towards qualification for the 2023 Men’s Cricket World Cup, which is scheduled to be taking place in India. With this league, the ICC feels that the importance of the bilateral ODI series will be improved, by putting World Cup qualification at stake.

world cup
England won the last world cup in 2019

The Cricket World Cup Super League is scheduled to commence with the series between England and Ireland, which is scheduled to commence on July 30 at the Rose Bowl Stadium, Southampton. However, as the league has been launched, there are some changes in the rule have also been made by the global, and the cricketing fans don’t have much idea about the details of the newly former guidelines.

ALSO READ: BCCI Gives “Letter Of Intent” To Host IPL To Emirates Cricket Board

However, we have managed to club all the necessary details to know about this new competition.

No. of Participating teams in the World Cup Super League: 

As many as 13 nationals will be participating in the league along with the Netherlands who won the ICC World Cricket Super League 2015-17 will participate in the tournament. For this edition, these are the participating teams: India, Australia, England, New Zealand, South Africa, Pakistan, West Indies, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Afghanistan, Ireland, Pakistan and the Netherlands.

Structure of the ODI League:

Team India during 2019 World Cup

Each and every nation will be required to play eight bilateral ODI series — four home and four away. Each series will consist of a minimum of three ODIs. However, it’ll be up to the cricketing board to organize more matches during the series but that will not serve as part of the Cricket World Cup Super League.

Point system 

Each series will have 30 points will be up for grabs, with the winning team will get 10 points for every win while losing side returning empty-handed. In case of a tie or no results the points will split equally among both the teams.

Rule Changes

The playing regulations will be the same but the ICC has come out with a couple of new rules for the Cricket World Cup Super League. Each side will be given a total of two Decision Review System (DRS) in each innings and the front-foot no balls will be monitored by the TV umpires in all the games which will be played as a part of the league. 

Qualification Scenario for the Super League

Top seven teams at the end of the Cricket World Cup Super League will receive automatic qualification for the 2023 Cricket World Cup, besides India who has already qualified as they are the host nation.

ALSO READ: Caribbean Premier League To Commence On August 18 Till September 10

However, the other five teams will also have a qualification chance by participating in another qualifying tournament, featuring five bottom sides from Cricket World Cup Super League and five associate nations, with the last two 2023 World Cup places up for grabs.