ICC World Test Championship Final Prize Money Revealed
By CricShots - May 26, 2023 3:59 pm
Views 15

The prize money for the ongoing ICC World Test Championship (WTC) final has been announced, offering lucrative rewards for the winner and the runner-up. The winners of the championship will take home an impressive $1.6 million (INR 13.22 crore approx.), while the runners-up will be awarded $800,000 (INR 6.61 crore approx.). The highly anticipated final between India and Australia is scheduled to take place on June 7 at The Oval in London.

Australia India
Australia vs India

The total prize purse for the championship remains unchanged, with $3.8 million set to be distributed among the nine participating teams. In the inaugural championship, led by Kane Williamson, New Zealand secured the title and received $1.6 million after defeating India by eight wickets in a rain-interrupted match that spanned six days.

ALSO READ: S Sreesanth Reveals Gavaskar’s Advice To Sanju Samson For IPL 2023

All nine teams will receive a share of the $3.8 million purse, with South Africa earning $450,000 for finishing third in the ICC World Test Championship 2021-23 standings. England, who made a late surge and finished in the fourth position, will be awarded $350,000.

Sri Lanka, a strong contender for a spot in the final during the gripping finale, claimed the fifth position, earning $200,000. The remaining teams, namely New Zealand (No. 6), Pakistan (No. 7), West Indies (No. 8), and Bangladesh (No. 9), will each receive a sum of $100,000 as recognition for their participation.

R Ashwin
Team India

Meanwhile, several members of the Indian squad have already arrived in England to prepare for the summit clash. Key players such as Shardul Thakur, Umesh Yadav, and head coach Rahul Dravid, among others, have begun their training sessions in anticipation of the prestigious match.

Excitement is building as India and Australia gear up to battle it out for the ultimate honor in the ICC World Test Championship, and cricket enthusiasts worldwide eagerly await the thrilling encounter at The Oval.

WATCH – Babar Azam Faces Backlash from Fans Over Bike Stunt Video 

India’s squad for WTC final: Rohit Sharma (Captain), Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli, Ajinkya Rahane, KS Bharat (wk), Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Shardul Thakur, Mohd. Shami, Mohd. Siraj, Umesh Yadav, Jaydev Unadkat, Ishan Kishan (wk).

Australia’s squad for WTC final: Pat Cummins (Captain), Scott Boland, Alex Carey (wk), Cameron Green, Marcus Harris, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Josh Inglis (wk), Usman Khawaja, Marnus Labuschagne, Nathan Lyon, Mitchell Marsh, Todd Murphy, Matthew Renshaw, Steve Smith (vice-captain), Mitchell Starc, David Warner