Twitter Reaction
Indian Fans Divided Over The LBW Dismissal Of KL Rahul, Rohit Sharma Was Disappointed
By CricShots - Sep 6, 2022 8:24 pm
Views 78

Team India is locking horns with Sri Lanka in the super-4 stage of the ongoing Asia Cup 2022 in Dubai in a do-or-die game for the men in blue. In the second over of the match bowled by Maheesh Theekshana, India suffered an early blow as KL Rahul was dismissed LBW. He took the DRS but due to inconclusive evidence, the third umpire had to give it out.

KL Rahul
KL Rahul failed to do much

Earlier in the game, the Sri Lankan skipper, Dasun Shanaka and asked India to bat first. While the Lankans made no change in their playing XI, Rohit Sharma made a tactical change by bringing in R Ashwin in place of Ravi Bishnoi citing the number of left-handed batters in the Sri Lankan XI.

Coming to the dismissal, on the 4th ball of the over, KL Rahul had smashed Theekshana for a boundary and came down the track again but a massive drift in the air made the batter miss the ball and the on-field umpire gave it LBW out after some thought. Rahul reviewed it immediately.

ALSO READ: Shane Watson Feels KL Rahul Can Take Pressure Off Rohit And Kohli In T20Is

The ball was drifting in just like an arm ball but in the opposite direction and KL Rahul was completely baffled. In the replays, there was no conclusive evidence that the ball took the inside edge and landed on the toe. However, it seemed like the bat was hitting the boot. The third umpire went for the ball tracker which showed that balls could’ve slipped the leg-stump. India saved the review but lost the wicket.

Here is the video of the dismissal of Virat Kohli;

India (Playing XI): Rohit Sharma (c), KL Rahul, Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant (w), Deepak Hooda, Hardik Pandya, Ravichandran Ashwin, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Arshdeep Singh

WATCH – A Fan Urges Rohit Sharma To Win The Cup This Time For India

Sri Lanka (Playing XI): Dasun Shanaka (c), Pathum Nissanka, Kusal Mendis (w), Charith Asalanka, Danushka Gunathilaka, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Wanindu Hasaranga, Chamika Karunaratne, Maheesh Theekshana, Asitha Fernando, Dilshan Madushanka

Here is how the fans reacted to the dismissal of KL Rahul: