IPL 2018
IPL 2018: Recalling first time happened in IPL history
By Sandy - Apr 7, 2018 10:39 am
Views 66

IPL 2018 will begin in few hours. It is the eleventh edition of this cash-rich tournament which will run until May 27. The 8 teams are participating and total 60 matches (including playoffs) will be played in this season. The opening match and the final match of this season both will be played at Wankhede Stadium (Mumbai).

IPL 2018 captains with the trophy

While defending champions Mumbai Indians (3 times; 2013, 2015 and 2017) has won this trophy for record times, Chennai Super Kings (2010 and 2011) and Kolkata Knight Riders (2012 and 2014) have tasted to win this trophy for twice. Rajasthan Royals won their only IPL trophy in the inaugural edition of this tournament (2008), while defunct team Hyderabad Deccan Chargers (2009) and present team Sunrisers Hyderabad (2016) have won once this tournament.

Also read: No better sports event than IPL to perform for – Tamannaah

While Umpire Decision Review System or UDRS is going to make IPL debut in this season, we will recall the major incidents happened for the first time in IPL history.


First season – 2008

First day – April 18, 2008

First venue – M. Chinnaswamy Stadium (Bengaluru)

First match – Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) vs Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR)

First toss won – Rahul Dravid (RCB captain)

First toss lost – Sourav Ganguly (KKR captain)

First ball faced – Sourav Ganguly (KKR)

Sourav Ganguly faced the first ever delivery in IPL history

First ball bowled – Praveen Kumar (RCB)

First four – Brendon McCullum (KKR) to Zaheer Khan (RCB)

First six – Brendon McCullum (KKR) to Zaheer Khan (RCB)

First dismissal – Sourav Ganguly (KKR) c Jacques Kallis b Zaheer Khan (RCB) for 10 runs (12 balls)

First 50 – Brendon McCullum (KKR) completed 50 runs in 32 balls

First 100 – Brendon McCullum (KKR) completed 100 runs in 53 balls

Brendon McCullum was the first ever IPL centurion batsman

First 150 – Brendon McCullum (KKR) completed 150 runs in 70 balls

First run-out – Ashley Noffke (RCB)

First victory – KKR won by 140 runs

Also read: Women’s cricketers are wishing to get women’s IPL soon


(First time happened in IPL history other than the inaugural match)

First maiden over – Glenn McGrath (Delhi Daredevils) against Rajasthan Royals at Feroz Shah Kotla (Delhi) on April 19, 2008.

First stumping – Robin Uthappa (Mumbai Indians) st Mark Boucher b Balachandra Akhil (RCB) at Wankhede Stadium (Mumbai) on April 20, 2008.

First hit-wicket – Musavir Khote (Mumbai Indians) hit wicket b S Sreesanth (Kings XI Punjab) at Punjab Cricket Association IS Bindra Stadium (Mohali, Chandigarh) on April 25, 2008.

First 5-wicket haul – Sohail Tanvir’s (Rajasthan Royals) 4-0-14-6 bowling figure against Chennai Super Kings at Sawai Mansingh Stadium (Jaipur) on May 4, 2008.

First hat-trick – Lakshmipathy Balaji (Chennai Super Kings) dismissed Irfan Pathan, Piyush Chawla and Vikram Singh in three consecutive deliveries (Kings XI Punjab) at MA Chidambaram Stadium (Chepauk, Chennai) on May 10, 2008.

Rajasthan Royals won the inaugural edition of IPL

First champion – Rajasthan Royals who had beaten Chennai Super Kings by 3 wickets in the IPL 2008 final at Dr DY Patil Sports Academy (Mumbai) on June 1, 2008.