IPL 2021
IPL 2021 Final: Faf du Plessis Fifty Helps CSK To Big Total, Twitter Reacts
By Aditya Pratap - Oct 15, 2021 9:44 pm
Views 44

Chennai Super Kings and Kolkata Knight Riders are locking horns in the final of the Indian Premier League 2021 in Dubai. CSK are playing in their ninth final and have a fourth title in sight. On the other hand, this is KKR’s third IPL final and they are eyeing a third IPL title.

Ruturaj Gaikwad
Faf du Plessis and Ruturaj Gaikwad

Eoin Morgan won the toss and kept the trend going as he decided to bowl first. Both teams fielded an unchanged playing XI for the summit clash.

Also Read: Faf du Plessis is available for selection confirms CSK CEO

Ruturaj Gaikwad and Faf du Plessis took CSK off to a good start. Gaikwad needed to score 24 runs to claim the orange cap and he did it inside the powerplay. The duo notched up the 50-run partnership in the powerplay as CSK scored 50/0 in six overs. Gaikwad got out after scoring 32 runs and Robin Uthappa walked out to bat at 3.

He started cutting loose as soon as he came out. Uthappa smashed three sixes in his innings of 31 runs before getting out to Sunil Narine. Meanwhile, Du Plessis scored yet another fifty in the IPL 2021. He found a good partner in Moeen Ali. Both batsmen tore the KKR bowling lineup apart and scored 68 runs in less than 7 overs.

Du Plessis was close to leapfrog Gaikwad in the orange cap’s list but he got out on the last ball when he needed 2 runs to tie with his opening partner at 635 runs. Du Plessis scored 86 runs in 59 balls where he hit seven fours and three sixes. Moeen Ali remained not out on 37 in 20 balls, which featured two fours and three sixes.

Also Read: Faf du Plessis suffers groin injury in CPL, major blow for CSK

See how Twitter reacted;

Chennai Super Kings (Playing XI): Ruturaj Gaikwad, Faf du Plessis, Robin Uthappa, Moeen Ali, Ambati Rayudu, MS Dhoni(w/c), Ravindra Jadeja, Dwayne Bravo, Shardul Thakur, Deepak Chahar, Josh Hazlewood.

Kolkata Knight Riders (Playing XI): Shubman Gill, Venkatesh Iyer, Nitish Rana, Rahul Tripathi, Dinesh Karthik(w), Eoin Morgan(c), Shakib Al Hasan, Sunil Narine, Lockie Ferguson, Shivam Mavi, Varun Chakaravarthy.