IPL 2021
IPL 2021: Watch: Rohit Sharma Falls Against Sunil Narine
By Aditya Pratap - Sep 23, 2021 9:12 pm
Views 126

Mumbai Indians and Kolkata Knight Riders are locking horns in the 34th match of the Indian Premier League 2021 in Abu Dhabi. Kolkata Knight Riders registered an emphatic victory in their last game against Royal Challengers Bangalore while Mumbai Indians got defeated by Chennai Super Kings in their previous game.

Rohit Sharma
Rohit Sharma completed 1000 runs against KKR in the IPL history

Rohit Sharma, after missing the previous game, made a comeback in this match for Mumbai and replaced Kieron Pollard to lead the team. Anmolpreet Singh made way for Rohit in the playing XI. Eoin Morgan won the toss and opted to bat first while naming an unchanged XI.

Also Read: Rohit Sharma praises Lasith Malinga as he announces retirement

Rohit and Quinton de Kock took MI off to a good start. Both openers played fearless shots against KKR bowlers and notched up a 50-run plus opening stand. De Kock in particular was more threatening and scored boundaries at will.

Meanwhile, Rohit Sharma completed 1000 IPL runs against KKR. Hence, he became the only batsman in the history of the league to score 1000 or more runs against a single team.

However, he fell soon after notching up the milestone. Rohit tried to up the ante against Sunil Narine and played a slog. The ball ballooned in the air towards the boundary where Shubhman Gill grabbed a regulation catch to end Rohit’s stay.

Also Read: Rohit Sharma missed the game against CSK, here is why

Watch the video here;

Rohit scored 33 runs in 30 balls where he hit four boundaries. However, he gave a solid 77-run opening partnership to MI before getting out.

MI Playing XI: Quinton de Kock (wk), Rohit Sharma (c), Suryakumar Yadav, Ishan Kishan, Saurabh Tiwary, Kieron Pollard, Krunal Pandya, Adam Milne, Rahul Chahar, Jasprit Bumrah, Trent Boult.

KKR Playing XI: Shubman Gill, Venkatesh Iyer, Rahul Tripathi, Nitish Rana, Eoin Morgan (c), Dinesh Karthik (wk), Andre Russell, Sunil Narine, Lockie Ferguson, Varun Chakravarthy, Prasidh Krishna.