IPL 2022
IPL 2022: Punjab Kings Confirm Mayank Agarwal Will Be Their Captain
By CricShots - Feb 28, 2022 11:43 am
Views 180

The Indian opener, Mayank Agarwal will be leading the Punjab Kings (PBKS) in the upcoming 15th edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2022. Mayank has been plying his trade for the Punjab Kings since 2018 and he had captained the team for one game during the India-leg of the last season as the then skipper, KL Rahul was injured.

Mayank Agarwal
Mayank Agarwal scored 50 on his captaincy debut

Accepting the position, in the statement issued by Punjab Kings, Mayank Agarwal said, β€œIt takes a lot of pride in representing this fantastic unit. I am delighted to be given the opportunity to lead the team. I take over this responsibility with utmost sincerity, but at the same time, I believe my job would be made easier with the talent we have at the Punjab Kings squad this season.”

WATCH – Yuzvendra Chahal Terms The Hair Of Mohamed Siraj As Dried Grass

Mayank and left-arm seamer Arshdeep Singh were retained by the franchise ahead of the 2022 IPL mega auction in Bengaluru. Arshdeep cost Punjab β‚Ή4 crores of its purse because he is an uncapped player.

Punjab, which changed its name – earlier known as Kings XI Punjab – ahead of the 2021 IPL. They have reached the final only once in 2014 when they locked horns with the Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR), and the latter had won their second title. With Mayank Agarwal now at the helm, PBKS will be hoping to win their maiden IPL title in 2022.

ALSO READ: Vinod Kambli Got Arrested For Drunk Driving And Hitting Car

The IPL 2022 is scheduled to be commencing on March 26, and the final set is to be played on May 29. The league phase will be played in Mumbai and Pune across four venues – the Wankhede Stadium and Brabourne Stadium in Mumbai, the DY Patil Sports Academy in Navi Mumbai, and the Maharashtra Cricket Association Stadium in Gahunje, in the outskirts of Pune. The league stage will have 70 matches. The playoffs are expected to be played at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad.