Fantasy Tips
IPL 2024: Match 68 (RCB vs CSK) – Playing XI and Fantasy XI Predictions
By CricShots - May 18, 2024 12:08 am
Views 46

Royal Challengers Bengaluru (RCB) and Chennai Super Kings (CSK) are set to clash in the 68th match of IPL 2024 at the M. Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bengaluru on May 18. This match is essentially a virtual qualifier, as the winning team will secure a spot in the playoffs, with net run rate also playing a crucial role in the final standings. Chennai Super Kings have enjoyed a strong season, winning 7 out of their 13 matches, placing them third on the points table.


Royal Challengers Bengaluru, on the other hand, have won 6 of their 13 games and are currently sixth with 12 points and a net run rate of +0.387. Historically, CSK has dominated this rivalry. In 32 head-to-head encounters, Chennai leads with a record of 21-10. Given this context, an exciting and high-stakes battle is expected. For CSK, a win will ensure their place in the playoffs. RCB, however, needs not only a win but a significant margin of victory to improve their net run rate and secure their spot.

Weather could play a crucial role in this match. There is an 80% chance of rain forecasted around the match start time in Bengaluru, which might lead to interruptions. However, the stadium’s advanced sub-surface aeration system should facilitate a quick restart, minimizing delays. The matches at Chinnaswamy Stadium this season have been evenly split between teams setting targets and those chasing them. This balance adds another layer of intrigue to the upcoming game.

WATCH – Ritika Sajdeh Overwhelmed As Emotional Rohit Sharma Smashes Fifty

In terms of head-to-head statistics, CSK has a clear upper hand, having won their last three matches against RCB and five out of the last six encounters. Only Mumbai Indians have more wins against a single opponent (23 against Kolkata Knight Riders) than CSK’s 21 wins against RCB, underscoring the Super Kings’ dominance in this rivalry. This historical advantage, coupled with their current form, makes CSK a formidable opponent for RCB in this crucial match.

Royal Challengers Bengaluru (RCB)

Royal Challengers Bengaluru (RCB)

Will Jacks and Reece Topley have returned home to begin preparations for the World Cup and will not be available for this game. Glenn Maxwell is expected to return to the playing XI for Royal Challengers Bengaluru (RCB). Yash Dayal has been outstanding in the PowerPlay at Bengaluru, consistently hitting his lengths and finding swing.

His performance has made him a significant threat to Rachin Ravindra and Ruturaj Gaikwad at the top of the innings, having dismissed them five times and three times, respectively, by left-arm seamers this season.

Probable XI: Virat Kohli, Faf du Plessis (c), Rajat Patidar, Glenn Maxwell, Cameron Green, Mahipal Lomror, Dinesh Karthik (wk), Swapnil Singh, Karn Sharma, Lockie Ferguson, Mohammed Siraj [Impact Sub: Vijaykumar Vyshak/Yash Dayal]

Chennai Super Kings (CSK)

Chennai Super Kings (CSK)

Matheesha Pathirana and Deepak Chahar are unavailable due to hamstring injuries. Additionally, Mustafizur Rahman and Moeen Ali have left for international commitments, further depleting CSK’s lineup. However, Ravindra Jadeja has notable match-ups against three of RCB’s key batters. Jadeja has dismissed Glenn Maxwell six times and has also taken the wickets of Virat Kohli and Dinesh Karthik three times each. His ability to exploit these match-ups could play a crucial role in CSK’s strategy against RCB.

Probable XI: Ruturaj Gaikwad (c), Rachin Ravindra, Daryl Mitchell, Shivam Dube, Ravindra Jadeja, MS Dhoni (wk), Shardul Thakur, Tushar Deshpande, Mitchell Santner/Richard Gleeson, Simarjeet Singh, Maheesh Theekshana

Fantasy XI Suggestion 1:

Dinesh Karthik, Virat Kohli (C), Shivam Dube (VC), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Faf du Plessis, Rajat Patidar, Cameron Green, Ravindra Jadeja, Tushar Deshpande, Simarjeet Singh, Yash Dayal

Fantasy XI Suggestion 2:

Dinesh Karthik, Virat Kohli (C), Shivam Dube (VC), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Faf du Plessis, Rajat Patidar, Cameron Green, Ravindra Jadeja, Tushar Deshpande, Simarjeet Singh, Yash Dayal