Irfan Pathan Gives A Message To Uncapped India Players For Sri Lankan Tour
By SMCS - Jun 12, 2021 5:53 pm
Views 1.7K

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has announced a 20-member India squad that will play three One Day Internationals and three T20 Internationals against Sri Lanka. While the main Indian squad is in the UK, this second string of Indian team has a few youngsters who have earned their maiden call-up. And, veteran all-rounder Irfan Pathan has shared a message for them.

bhuvneshwar kumar
Bhuvneshwar Kumar drew the first blood for India

However, the main team under the leadership of Virat Kohli will take on New Zealand and England in the final of the inaugural edition of the World Test Championship and a five-match Test series respectively. While the summit clash will begin from June 18 to June 22 at the Ageas Bowl in Southampton, the five-match Test series will start from August 4 as well.

Meanwhile, the Sri Lanka series is scheduled to begin from July 13, with the next two games take place on July 16 and 18 respectively. The three T20Is will take place on July 21, 23, and 25 respectively as well. However, the players like Devdutt Padikkal, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Nitish Rana, Chetan Sakariya, and K Gowtham have received their maiden call-ups after their impressive performances in the domestic circuit as well as in the Indian Premier League (IPL).

ALSO READ: Indian Women’s Team Gets First Dose Of COVID-19 Vaccine

Meanwhile, Irfan Pathan has wished them and ask them to make everyone proud as well. He tweeted: Wishing you guys all the luck for future. May you guys play long for team India and make everyone proud. @Sakariya55 @devdpd07 @NitishRana_27 @Ruutu1331 @gowthamyadav88 #TeamIndia”

To which, Nitish Rana has also thanked him as well.

READ HERE: Saba Karim Reveals The Name Of Potential Candidate For India Captain

While spinner Varun Chakravarthy has been named in the squad last year also, he didn’t take part due to injury and this time he is likely to play his first match during the Sri Lanka tour as well.

India’s squad for the Sri Lanka tour: Shikhar Dhawan (Captain), Prithvi Shaw, Devdutt Padikkal, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Suryakumar Yadav, Manish Pandey, Hardik Pandya, Nitish Rana, Ishan Kishan (Wicketkeeper), Sanju Samson (Wicketkeeper), Yuzvendra Chahal, Rahul Chahar, K Gowtham, Krunal Pandya, Kuldeep Yadav, Varun Chakravarthy, Bhuvneshwar Kumar (Vice-captain), Deepak Chahar, Navdeep Saini, Chetan Sakariya