Ish Sodhi included in the ODI squad for the upcoming England series
By Sandy - Feb 22, 2018 5:23 pm
Views 66
  1. New Zealand Cricket (NZC) announced their 14-man squad for the first two ODI matches of the upcoming five-match home ODI series against the visitors England. Ish Sodhi is selected in this squad while George Worker and Seth Rance are the only players to be missed out from the last ODI series squad which was against Pakistan at home.
Ish Sodhi is selected in the 14-man squad for the upcoming home ODI series against England

For the upcoming home ODI series against England, New Zealand Cricket has retained almost the same squad for the first two ODIs that had been selected for the last ODI series against Pakistan. New Zealand had won their last series against Pakistan by 5-0.

Also read: Stokes pleads not guilty, ready to join the England squad

Only batsman George Worker and right-arm medium bowler Seth Rance missed out from the last ODI series squad.

Trent Boult, who was rested and replaced by Seth Rance for the last ODI against the Pakistan series, is coming back to the side.

Due to having injury concerns with the main spinners Mitchell Santner and Todd Astle, 25-years old leg-spinner Ish Sodhi is added to the squad. Taking about Sodhi’s inclusion in the squad, New Zealand Cricket’s chief selector Gavin Larsen said, “Both Mitchell and Todd have had injury concerns recently, so having Ish travel with us gives further options in the spin department.”

Also read: Bayliss ruled out Stokes comeback in the first ODI

The Indian born Ish Sodhi had played his last ODI in May 2017. However, he was featured in the recently ended T20I tri-series where Australia and England had also taken the part. He impressed in that series where he claimed five wickets in five matches with 32.00 bowling average.

On the other hand, Larsen pointed out their recent ODI form by quoting, “Having won the previous eight matches, we’ve been able to keep good consistency in selection with our ODI squad. We still have a number of guys pushing their case in domestic cricket and that’s pleasing, but this is the squad for the first two matches of the series.”

New Zealand Squad (for first two ODIs): Kane Williamson(c), Todd Astle, Trent Boult, Lockie Ferguson, Colin de Grandhomme, Martin Guptill, Matt Henry, Tom Latham, Colin Munro, Henry Nicholls, Mitchell Santner, Tim Southee, Ross Taylor, Ish Sodhi.

England ODI squad: Eoin Morgan (c), Moeen Ali, Jonny Bairstow, Sam Billings, Jos Buttler, Tom Curran, Alex Hales, Craig Overton, Adil Rashid, Joe Root, Jason Roy, Ben Stokes, David Willey, Chris Woakes, Mark Wood.

5-match ODI series schedule

1st ODI: 25 February 2018 – Seddon Park, Hamilton (Day/night)

2nd ODI: 28 February 2018 – Bay Oval, Mount Maunganui (Day/night)

3rd ODI: 3 March 2018 – Wellington Regional Stadium, Wellington (Day/night)

4th ODI: 7 March 2018 – University Oval, Dunedin (Day)

5th ODI: 10 March 2018 – Hagley Oval, Christchurch (Day)