IPL 2024
Matheesha Pathirana Castles Devdutt Padikkal 151 kmph Thunderbolt
By CricShots - Apr 23, 2024 11:53 pm
Views 35

In a pivotal moment during the clash between Chennai Super Kings and Lucknow Super Giants, Matheesha Pathirana showcased his bowling prowess by claiming his maiden wicket in style. The encounter, set at the iconic MA Chidambaram Stadium, witnessed Pathirana’s clinical delivery that dismantled the stumps of Devdutt Padikkal, altering the course of the game.

Matheesha Pathirana
Matheesha Pathirana cleans up Devdutt Padikkal

Devdutt Padikkal entered the fray during the fifth over, tasked with stabilizing LSG’s innings following the early dismissals of their openers. CSK’s Deepak Chahar had set the tone by sending Quinton de Kock packing for a duck in the initial over. Then, Mustafizur Rahman further rattled LSG’s lineup by removing their skipper, KL Rahul, for a modest 16 runs, leaving the visitors at 33 for 2.

Amidst the pressure, Devdutt Padikkal and Marcus Stoinis orchestrated a commendable partnership, crossing the 50-run mark. However, just when the duo appeared to consolidate LSG’s position, Matheesha Pathirana intervened. The Sri Lankan prodigy executed a masterful delivery, breaching Padikkal’s defence and crashing onto the stumps with pinpoint accuracy.

WATCH – Ravindra Jadeja Adds Fun To The Field With Camera Antics

Devdutt Padikkal’s departure, after contributing 13 runs from 19 deliveries, halted LSG’s momentum. At the juncture of reporting, LSG stood at 143 for 3 in the 16th over, with Stoinis anchoring the innings at 86 runs, supported by Nicholas Pooran’s 21.


In the preceding innings, CSK amassed a formidable total of 210 for 4 in their allotted 20 overs, courtesy of an outstanding century by their captain, Ruturaj Gaikwad. Gaikwad’s unbeaten 108-run innings, along with Shivam Dube’s explosive 66-run knock, laid the foundation for CSK’s imposing total, setting the stage for an enthralling encounter.

WATCH – Yash Thakur Falls Uncomfortably After Conceding A Six

Chennai Super Kings (Playing XI): Ajinkya Rahane, Ruturaj Gaikwad (c), Daryl Mitchell, Moeen Ali, Shivam Dube, Ravindra Jadeja, MS Dhoni (wk), Deepak Chahar, Tushar Deshpande, Mustafizur Rahman, Matheesha Pathirana

Lucknow Super Giants (Playing XI): Quinton de Kock, KL Rahul (c & wk), Marcus Stoinis, Deepak Hooda, Nicholas Pooran, Ayush Badoni, Krunal Pandya, Matt Henry, Ravi Bishnoi, Mohsin Khan, Yash Thakur