Mohammed Siraj And Shreyas Iyer Includes In ICC ODI Team Of 2022
By CricShots - Jan 24, 2023 1:25 pm
Views 62

After three Indians managed to find a place in the ICC T20I Team of the Year 2022 which was announced on Monday, (January 23rd), ICC announced the ODI team of the year 2022 on January 24th (Tuesday). As expected, a couple of Indian players have managed to make their place in the eleven. Middle-order batter Shreyas Iyer and bowler Mohammed Siraj have earned their place in the eleven.

Shreyas Iyer
Shreyas Iyer played a brilliant knock

Shreyas Iyer played 17 ODIs in 2022 and he managed to score as many as 724 runs to his name at an average of 55.69. Iyer smacked a century along with 6 half-centuries in ODIs in 2022.

Mohammed Siraj on the other hand registered 24 wickets in 15 ODIs in 2022. He maintained an economy of 4.62 while bowling in the 50-over format and solved India’s concern of picking up wickets inside the powerplay. He scalped around 15 wickets in the first 10 overs in 2022 which is the most by a bowler in the year.ย 

ALSO READ: Rahul Dravid takes MS Dhoniโ€™s name in epic statement as India face keeper conundrum

The ICC ODI Team of the Year 2022 is led by Pakistan captain Babar Azam, with Australian Travis Head opening the innings. West Indies’ Shai Hope is at #3, followed by Iyer at the number 4 position. Tom Latham is the wicket-keeper named at #5 followed by Zimbabwe all-rounder Sikandar Raza.

In the nine matches Babar played this year, the 28-year-old registered eight scores of more than fifty, three of which he converted into hundreds. He finished the year with 679 runs at a stunning average of 84.87. Usually an attacking middle-order batter, Head brilliantly reinvented himself as an opener in ODIs, becoming one of Australia’s most consistent batters in ODIs.

ALSO READ: Courts Orders Mohammed Shami To Pay A Monthly Alimony of INR 50,000 To Hasin Jahan

It was a year to remember for Travis Head as he amassed 550 runs from nine games at 68.75. Bangladesh Mehidy Hasan Miraz has been given the 2nd all-rounder spot, followed by West Indies’ pacer Alzarri Joseph, Siraj, New Zealand’s Trent Boult, and Australia’s Adam Zampa have been named.

ICC ODI Team of the Year 2022:

Babar Azam (c), Travis Head, Shai Hope, Shreyas Iyer, Tom Latham (wk), Sikandar Raza, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Alzarri Joseph, Mohammed Siraj, Trent Boult, Adam Zampa