Mohammed Siraj Released: India Makes Changes For Vizag Test Against England
By CricShots - Feb 2, 2024 10:35 am
Views 12

Fast bowler Mohammed Siraj has been released from the Indian cricket team squad ahead of the second Test against England in Vizag, starting Friday. The decision, as per a BCCI release, was made considering the duration of the series and Siraj’s recent workload. Avesh Khan has been named as Siraj’s replacement for the match, with Siraj set to be available for selection for the third Test in Rajkot.

Mohammed Siraj
Mohammed Siraj 

“Mr Mohd. Siraj has been released from the India squad for the second Test against England in Vizag. The decision was taken keeping in mind the duration of the series and the amount of cricket he has played in recent times. He will be available for selection for the third Test in Rajkot. Avesh Khan has re-joined the team for the 2nd Test,” the BCCI release stated.


India, captained by Rohit Sharma, won the toss and opted to bat first in their quest to level the series after trailing 1-0. The hosts made three changes to their lineup, enforced by injuries to KL Rahul and Ravindra Jadeja. Batsman Rajat Patidar received his maiden Test cap, replacing Rahul, while left-arm wrist spinner Kuldeep Yadav and fast bowler Mukesh Kumar came in for Jadeja and Siraj, respectively.

ALSO READ: “It was a bit tough to believe in the beginning”- Sarfaraz Khan 

On the other hand, England, led by Ben Stokes, announced their playing XI ahead of the match. Off-spinner Shoaib Bashir received his Test cap, replacing the injured Jack Leach.

Senior pacer James Anderson retained his place as the sole fast bowler after replacing Mark Wood. England aims to maintain their winning momentum after securing a thrilling 28-run victory in the series opener in Hyderabad, marking just India’s fourth home Test defeat since 2013.

ALSO READ: “He needs to do something about his defense” – Sanjay Manjrekar on Shubman Gill

India: Yashasvi Jaiswal, Rohit Sharma (capt), Shubman Gill, Rajat Patidar, Shreyas Iyer, Srikar Bharat (wk), Ravichandran Ashwin, Axar Patel, Jasprit Bumrah, Mukesh Kumar, Kuldeep Yadav

England: Zak Crawley, Ben Duckett, Ollie Pope, Joe Root, Jonny Bairstow, Ben Stokes (capt), Ben Foakes, Rehan Ahmed, Tom Hartley, Shoaib Bashir, James Anderson.