N Jagadeesan Breaks Rohit Sharma’s Record Of Highest Individual Score In List-A Cricket
By CricShots - Nov 21, 2022 2:24 pm
Views 60

M Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bengaluru became a venue for tumbling records tumbled as Narayan Jagadesan set the stage on fire in Tamil Nadu’s Vijay Hazare Trophy 2022 match against Arunachal Pradesh. N Jagadeesan managed to break Rohit Sharma’s record for the highest score by a batter in List A cricket.

N Jagadeesan
N Jagadeesan makes a huge record

N Jagadeesan went past Rohit Sharma’s tally of 264 from 2014 (against Sri Lanka at the Eden Gardens) in the 41st over of Tamil Nadu’s Elite Group C match of Vijay Hazare Trophy. By then, Jagadeesan had smashed 15 sixes and 25 boundaries. Soon after, he broke the world record held by England batter Alistair Brown for the highest score in List A cricket (50-over format) – 268.

ALSO READ: Ross Taylor Feels Suryakumar Yadav Takes Calculated Risks

N Jagadeesan was eventually dismissed after scoring 277 runs off 141 balls after 25 boundaries and 15 sixes in the 42nd over by Chetan Anand. Jagadeesan had the opportunity to become the first man in the history of the sport to get to a triple century in List A cricket but he missed out on the opportunity.

Jagadeesan, who was one of the few names released by Chennai Super Kings ahead of the IPL 2023 mini-auction, was part of multiple world records during the stunning run-fest in Bengaluru on November 21. Jagadeesan had set a new world record in List A cricket for the greatest number of successive centuries – 5, going past Sri Lanka’s Kumar Sangakkara, South Africa’s Alviro Petersen, and Karnataka’s Devdutt Padikkal.

ALSO READ: Rishabh Pant Had A Unique Praise For Suryakumar Yadav

Meanwhile, Tamil Nadu also registered their names in the history books as they become the first team in the world to score 500 runs in List A cricket. TN went past England’s previous record of 498 (498 for 4 against Netherlands in 2022) to finish with 506 for 2 in 50 overs against Arunachal.