IPL 2017
No Steyn among marquee domestic stars of #T20 Global Destination League
By CricShots - Apr 22, 2017 5:47 am
Views 53

Star pacer Dale Steyn was one of the notable names missing among the eight marquee domestic players announced by Cricket South Africa (CSA) on Friday to represent the various franchises in the first two editions of the new #T20 Global Destination League.

Barring Steyn, the list is on expected lines with the likes of Hashim Amla, AB de Villiers, Faf du Plessis, David Miller, Kagiso Rabada, Imran Tahir, Quinton de Kock and Jean Paul Duminy all set to be allocated to a franchise based in the city he has either been historically associated with or a city with which he can build a strong association.

“The selection of our own South African marquee players has been very exciting. And it will be even more exciting when we engage fans to help us to allocate the ‘hometown hero’ to each franchise team,” CSA Chief Executive Haroon Lorgat said.

“We must not understate the world class quality of our own players. They are household names across the world and our fans in South Africa will finally get the chance to see them compete against one another at home.”

“Together with the international marquee players announced last week, the Protea stars will add great value to the new franchise teams they will represent,” Lorgat added.

Commenting on the announcement, South Africa Test and T20 captain du Plessis said: “It is a great feeling to be named amongst the eight marquee players. These are some of the best players in the world.”

“Playing against them in the new #T20 Global Destination League will be a different challenge and one I look forward to. It will be fun and at the same time very competitive because we know each other so well. I am really looking forward to it,” he added.

Each franchise team will also be allocated an international marquee player. This means that each team will start with two marquee players named in their 17-man squad.

The rest of the squad will be assembled by the team owners and coach in a player draft system.

The list of international stars include West Indians Chris Gayle, Dwayne Bravo and Keiron Pollard, England trio of Eoin Morgan, Kevin Pietersen and Jason Roy, Sri Lankan pacer Lasith Malinga and former New Zealand captain Brendon McCullum.