On This Day
On This Day: Australia won their second World Cup title
By B Dixit - Jun 20, 2018 4:16 pm
Views 265

Exactly 19 years ago, Australia beat Pakistan by 8 wickets in the final of the ICC Cricket World Cup 1999 at Lord’s, London. Having won their maiden title under Allan Border in 1987, this was their second World Cup title.

Wasim Akram, the then Pakistani captain, had won the toss and chose to bat in the big final. Both teams had fielded the same playing eleven which had won them their respective semi-final.

Steve Waugh with the trophy.

Glenn McGrath took the new ball for Australia and drew first blood in the fifth over of the innings when he dismissed Wajahatullah Wasti (1). On the first ball of the following over, Damien Fleming sent back Saeed Anwar (15) as Pakistan were reduced to 21-2.

ALSO READ: Australia succumb to a record defeat against England

Pakistan never really got the required total which would have aided them in posting a formidable total in the final. Apart from a 47-run stand for the third wicket between Abdul Razzaq (17) and Ijaz Ahmed, they lacked any considerable partnership.

Australian players posing with the trophy.

It was a combined effort from the Australian bowlers which saw Pakistan scoring 132-10 in 39 overs. Ahmed top-scored with 22 (46) with the help of two fours. With bowling figures of 9-1-33-4, Shane Warne was the pick of the bowlers for Australia. Apart from him, McGrath and Tom Moody picked up a couple of wickets each.

Chasing a paltry target of 133 runs to win the match, Australia sealed the match and the World Cup in the 21st over. Wicket-keeper Adam Gilchrist raced through to his eighth ODI half-century, 54 (36), with the help of eight fours and a six. Mark Waugh (37*) and Darren Lehmann (13*) remained unbeaten as Australia scored 133-2 in 20.1 overs.

Watch the full video: