Pakistan Pacer Usman Shinwari Announces Retirement From Test Cricket
By Aditya Pratap - Nov 16, 2021 8:31 pm
Views 6.3K

Pakistan fast bowler Usman Khan Shinwari has announced his retirement from Test cricket to prolong his cricketing career in the other formats. Shinwari is coming out of a back injury and his doctors advised him to leave the red-ball cricket.

Usman Shinwari

He played his last international match for Pakistan back in 2019. He featured in 17 One-Day Internationals and 16 T20Is for Pakistan. His last international match was a Test match against Sri Lanka back in December 2019, which happens to be his only Test appearance so far.

Also Read: Usman Shinwari writes another desert storm in Sharjah

Shinwari announced his decision on Twitter, citing doctors and physio advised him to leave the long form of cricket to avoid further such injuries.

“Thanks to @sportsphysiojav ALHAMDULILLAH I have made my comeback again from back injury and now I am absolutely fit but due to my Doctors and physio advises I have to leave Long format to avoid such injuries in future and prolong my Cricket career. I am Resigning from Red ball,” Shinwari tweeted.

See the tweet here;

He made his international debut in 2013. He has excellent numbers in the ODI cricket where he bagged 34 wickets in 17 ODIs at an impressive average of 18.61 while claiming 2 five-wicket hauls.

Shinwari has plied his trade in 33 first-class matches. He has picked up 96 wickets in first-class cricket at an exceptional bowling average of 26.84 and a strike rate of 49.40.

Also Read: Pakistan to host the Champions Trophy in 2025

Meanwhile, Pakistan announced their squad for the T20I series in Bangladesh, scheduled to begin on November 19. Pakistan will play two Test matches as well from November 26-30 and December 4-8 in Chittagong and Dhaka.

Pakistan T20 Squad: Babar Azam (captain), Shadab Khan, Asif Ali, Fakhar Zaman, Haider Ali, Haris Rauf, Hasan Ali, Iftikhar Ahmed, Imad Wasim, Khushdil Shah, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Rizwan, Mohammad Wasim Jnr, Sarfaraz Ahmed, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Shahnawaz Dahani, Shoaib Malik, Usman Qadir.