PM Narendra Modi Congratulates Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli After India’s T20 World Cup Triumph
By CricShots - Jun 30, 2024 9:10 pm
Views 21

Prime Minister Narendra Modi today extended his heartfelt congratulations to the Indian Cricket Team on their triumphant T20 World Cup victory against South Africa. In a phone call, the Prime Minister expressed his gratitude to coach Rahul Dravid, whose tenure as Team India’s Head Coach concluded after the historic match. Dravid’s guidance was instrumental in ending India’s 11-year ICC title drought, a feat celebrated by the nation.

India Prime Minister Narendra Modi

PM Modi lauded Rohit Sharma for his exemplary captaincy and praised Virat Kohli for his outstanding performance in the final. Both stalwarts announced their retirements from T20I cricket following the match, with Kohli making his announcement minutes after the victory and Sharma following suit in the post-match press conference.

ALSO READ: BCCI Announces INR 125 Crore Prize Money For Team India After T20 World Cup Triumph

The Prime Minister also commended Hardik Pandya for his crucial final over and Suryakumar Yadav for his remarkable boundary catch that dismissed David Miller. Home Minister Amit Shah joined in, calling both Rahul Dravid and Rohit Sharma to congratulate them on their remarkable achievement.



In a video message released yesterday, PM Modi emphasized that the team not only won the World Cup but also the hearts of millions of Indians. He highlighted the team’s undefeated run throughout the tournament as a significant accomplishment.


Euphoric celebrations erupted across the country as fans took to the streets, waving the Tricolour in jubilation. Social media platforms were inundated with congratulatory messages and images capturing the joyous moments as India clinched the T20 World Cup title by narrowly defeating South Africa by seven runs at the Kensington Oval in Barbados.

ALSO READ: Ravindra Jadeja Announces Retirement From T20I Cricket After India’s Historic T20 World Cup Win

This victory marked India’s first ICC title in 11 years, making the moment even more special for the nation and the players who brought glory home.