Social Shots
Rahul Tewatia Expresses Agony After Being Ignored For The Ireland Tour
By CricShots - Jun 16, 2022 10:26 am
Views 1.2K

The Indian all-rounder, Rahul Tewatia expressed his hurt after not finding his name in the Indian squad for the two-match T20I series in Ireland later this month. He had a very good IPL, winning at least a couple of matches single-handedly with the bat for the eventual champions but the selectors decided to keep a largely similar squad to the one that is currently locking horns with South Africa in a five-match T20I series barring the change in leadership from Rishabh Pant to Hardik Pandya.

Rahul Tewatia
Rahul Tewatia 

In the tweet expressing his agony, Rahul Tewatia wrote: “Expectations hurt.” He also tweeted a couple of sad emojis a few hours after BCCI announced a 17-member squad for the Ireland T20Is. Tewatia received a lot of support from fans. Many wished him luck and said he will soon don the Indian colors.

Rahul Tewatia had amassed 217 runs in 16 matches at a strike rate of 147.62 in IPL 2022. Tewatia played many useful cameos for Gujarat Titans (GT) but none more special than his Hoodini Act against Punjab Kings. He smashed PBKS pacer Odean Smith for back-to-back sixes when 12 runs were required off 2 balls to take Gujarat to a six-wicket victory.

ALSO READ: Hardik Pandya To Lead Team India During The Ireland Series, SKY Comes Back

Tewatia’s incredible show had even earned him the tag of ‘ice man’ from none other than the great Sunil Gavaskar. In another match-winning effort a few days later, Rahul Tewatia smashed an unbeaten 40 off 21 balls when GT needed 56 in the last four overs to take his side to victory.

The only new face in the side is Maharashtra’s right-hand batter Rahul Tripathi, who has been rewarded after scoring 400 runs for Sunrisers Hyderabad in IPL 2022. Two other cricketers – Sanju Samson and Suryakumar Yadav made a comeback to the Indian side.

ALSO READ: Jay Shah Confirms IPL Will Have Two and Half Month Window From Next FTP

India’s T20I squad: Hardik Pandya (Captain), Bhuvneshwar Kumar (vice-captain), Ishan Kishan, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Sanju Samson, Suryakumar Yadav, Venkatesh Iyer, Deepak Hooda, Rahul Tripathi, Dinesh Karthik (wicket-keeper), Yuzvendra Chahal, Axar Patel, Ravi Bishnoi, Harshal Patel, Avesh Khan, Arshdeep Singh, Umran Malik