IPL 2022
Rajasthan Royals Appoints Lasith Malinga As Their Bowling Coach
By CricShots - Mar 11, 2022 4:16 pm
Views 271

The Indian Premier League (IPL) franchise, Rajasthan Royals (RR) on Friday announced the appointment of the legendary Sri Lanka fast bowler, Lasith Malinga as the franchise’s Fast Bowling Coach ahead of the 15th edition of the IPL. Malinga had previously served as the bowling mentor of the Mumbai Indians (MI) before he returned in IPL 2019 as a player.

lasith malinga
Lasith Malinga

The legendary fast bowler is reputed for his unconventional approach to bowling and his strategic thinking. Lasith Malinga also served as the Sri Lanka men’s team’s bowling strategy coach for their five-match T20I tour of Australia. He was appointed by the Executive Committee of Sri Lanka Cricket in consultation with the Technical Advisory Committee of Sri Lanka Cricket.

Lasith Malinga, in his short-term role as a specialist coach, supported Sri Lanka’s bowlers, providing tactical insight and technical expertise to help the on-field execution of strategic plans. The appointment was effective from February 1-20.

ALSO READ: R Ashwin Recalls Him Encouraging Ankit Rajpoot For Mankading

Rajasthan Royals (RR) IPL 2022 Players List

Sanju Samson, Jos Buttler (R), Yashasvi Jaiswal (R), R Ashwin, Trent Boult, Shimron Hetmyer, Devdutt Padikkal, Prasidh Krishna, Yuzvendra Chahal, Riyan Parag, KC Cariappa, Navdeep Saini, Obed McCoy, Arunay Singh, Kuldeep Sen, Karun Nair, Dhruv Jurel, Tejas Baroka, Kuldeep Yadav, Shubham Garhwal, James Neesham, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Rassie Van Der Dussen, Daryl Mitchell

ALSO READ: Aakash Chopra comments on MCC’s rule changes

RR IPL 2022 fixtures, match timings, and venues:

  • March 29: Sunrisers Hyderabad vs Rajasthan Royals-7.30pm- MCA Stadium, Pune
  • April 2: Mumbai Indians vs Rajasthan Royals- 3.30 pm- DY Patil Stadium
  • April 5: Rajasthan Royals vs Royal Challengers Bangalore- 7.30 pm- Wankhede Stadium
  • April 10: Rajasthan Royals vs Lucknow Super Giants- 7.30 pm- Wankhede Stadium
  • April 14: Rajasthan Royals vs Gujarat Titans- 7.30 pm- DY Patil Stadium
  • April 18: Rajasthan Royals vs Kolkata Knight Riders- 7.30 pm- Brabourne, CCI
  • April 22: Delhi Capitals vs Rajasthan Royals- 7.30 pm- MCA Stadium, Pune
  • April 26: Royal Challengers Bangalore vs Rajasthan Royals- 7.30 pm- MCA Stadium, Pune
  • April 30: Rajasthan Royals vs Mumbai Indians- 7.30 pm- DY Patil Stadium
  • May 2: Kolkata Knight Riders vs Rajasthan Royals- 7.30 pm- Wankhede Stadium
  • May 7: Punjab Kings vs Rajasthan Royals- 3.30 pm- Wankhede Stadium
  • May 11: Rajasthan Royals vs Delhi Capitals- 7.30 pm- DY Patil Stadium
  • May 15: Lucknow Super Giants vs Rajasthan Royals- 7.30 pm- Brabourne, CCI
  • May 20: Rajasthan Royals vs Chennai Super Kings- 7.30 pm- Brabourne, CCI