Ravindra Jadeja Ruled Out Of Asia Cup, Axar Patel Replaces Him
By CricShots - Sep 2, 2022 6:45 pm
Views 35

The veteran Indian all-rounder, Ravindra Jadeja has suffered a knee injury while training in the ongoing Asia Cup and now he will be missing the remaining matches of the tournament. Axar Patel, who was one of the reserves in the Indian team has been confirmed to replace him in the squad, scheduled to join the team ahead of the Super Fours stage of the tournament.

Ravindra Jadeja
Ravindra Jadeja

India has suffered a major setback in the Asia Cup which is currently been played in the United Arab Emirates. The veteran Indian all-rounder, Ravindra Jadeja has sustained an injury to his right knee ahead of the Super Fours stage and will take no further part in the tournament.

ALSO READ: Suryakumar Yadav Gives A Cheeky Reply To Virat Kohli Over Break Yuvraj’s record

The 33-year-old played a crucial knock of 35 in the team’s opening game against Pakistan before being the side’s best performing bowler in the following game against Hong Kong.

Axar Patel, previously named as a reserve player for the competition, has now been brought in as a replacement and is expected to join the contingent in Dubai ahead of their next game. The all-rounder was at his prime form with both bat and bowl in the recent tour of the Caribbean, including blitzing an unbeatable match-winning 64 in the second ODI.

ALSO READ: Indian Players Enjoy The Day-off Playing Beach Volleyball

India will be hoping Ravindra Jadeja returns well in time for the World T20 Down Under commencing in October, given he forms an integral part of the Indian limited-overs squad. It is worth noting that Ravichandran Ashwin is also a part of the squad and is another possible replacement for Jadeja in their first game of the Super Fours phase.

India’s squad for Asia Cup: Rohit Sharma (Captain), KL Rahul (vice-captain), Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Deepak Hooda, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Dinesh Karthik (wicket-keeper), Hardik Pandya, Axar Patel, R. Ashwin, Yuzvendra Chahal, Ravi Bishnoi, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Arshdeep Singh, Avesh Khan