IPL 2022
Rinku Singh Failed To Take A DRS, Had An Animated Chat With The Umpires
By CricShots - May 14, 2022 11:11 pm
Views 5.2K

Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) is locking horns with Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) in the 61st match of the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2022 at the MCA Stadium in Pune. In the first innings, Rinku Singh was given out LBW off T Natarajan during the 12th over and his partner Sam Billings signaled for DRS, however, Rinku had to take the decision in the given time.

Rinku Singh
Rinku Singh failed to take the DRS on the last time

KKR got off to a good start as they were cruising at 63/1 in seven overs after Shreyas Iyer won the toss and decided to bat first, with Nitish Rana scoring 25 not out off 16 balls. Ajinkya Rahane was there at the crease, on 27 off 22 balls. The eighth over was bowled by Umran Malik.  They slipped from 65/1 to 94/5 after Shreyas Iyer won the toss and opted to bat. Rinku Singh was the last man to go by the time of writing.

WATCH – Shashank Singh Plucked A Brilliant Catch To Send Back Ajinkya Rahane

During the 12th over, T Natarajan delivered a toe-crushing yorker to Rinku. It actually hit Rinku’s toe, and the on-field umpire took some time before raising his finger. Sam Billings, who was there at the non-strikers’ end, signaled for DRS immediately. But Rinku went on to discuss with Billings whether they should go upstairs or not, and by the time he went for DRS, the time was up. The on-field umpires then told Rinku that he had to return to the pavilion as he was out of time to challenge the decision.

Here is the video of the incident:

Kolkata Knight Riders (Playing XI): Venkatesh Iyer, Ajinkya Rahane, Shreyas Iyer (c), Nitish Rana, Sam Billings (wk), Rinku Singh, Andre Russell, Sunil Narine, Umesh Yadav, Tim Southee, Varun Chakaravarthy

ALSO READ: Harbhajan Singh Predicts The Future Captain Of Mumbai Indians

Sunrisers Hyderabad (Playing XI): Abhishek Sharma, Kane Williamson (c), Rahul Tripathi, Aiden Markram, Nicholas Pooran (wk), Shashank Singh, Washington Sundar, Marco Jansen, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, T Natarajan, Umran Malik

Here is how the fans reacted to the incident: