Rules of the game of cricket are as complicated as they can get that’s why they create confusion among the viewers. The umpire’s call in DRS and the soft signal have already become the talk of the town in recent time and once again, during the second ODI between India and England, another baffling rule in the sport left the fans confused. The incident happened on the last ball of the 40th over when Tom Curran was bowling involving Rishabh Pant, who was attempting his reverse scoop.
Curran had delivered a full-length ball and the southpaw missed the ball. In real-time, it seemed as if the ball crashed onto his pad and sneaked past the leg-stump for a boundary. England players and even the umpire also felt the same as the latter acknowledged the appeal and ave it out. However, replays confirmed that the ball never hit Rishabh Pant‘s pad and it had actually hit the bat. As the batsman had opted for DRS, the on-field decision was overturned.
However, there was confusion regarding the decision as though Pant was given not-out but India was not awarded four runs as the ball had only taken the bat’s edge before racing towards the boundary. The fans weren’t sure why the umpire didn’t signal a four on that occasion. The fact is, the umpires are not at fault at all because the rule states that, if a batsman is given out leg before, the ball at that moment becomes dead even if the decision is overturned later.
Once the batsman is given out, it doesn’t matter what happened later on. In this case, the umpire had adjudged Rishabh Pant out after which the ball reached the boundary. Hence, the moment he was given out, it didn’t matter where did the ball go or if the batsman ran a single or a couple. In the end, Pant had smashed 77 off 40 balls before getting out in the 47th over.
The rule has been confusing for many and certainly, four valuable runs were denied to the team and it could be highlighted more if a team wins or loses by four runs in the future or like it happened with the boundary count rule, in a World Cup final.
— Wasim Jaffer (@WasimJaffer14) March 26, 2021
— Michael Vaughan (@MichaelVaughan) March 26, 2021
Coach : It’s important while playing the big shots your head does not fall over and your body is perfectly balanced….Rishabh are you listening???
Student : Sir Rishabh is not here, he has gone to get something.#FindYourOwnWay
— Sanjay Manjrekar (@sanjaymanjrekar) March 26, 2021
Surely has to play every game for India going forward. No debate.
— Ian Bell (@Ian_Bell) March 26, 2021
I would honestly like to know which bowler would like to bowl to Pant, in this form? I don’t think that there would be any!!
— Lisa Sthalekar (@sthalekar93) March 26, 2021
Any time Rishabh Pant hits a six I get that tune in my head and sing ‘he’ll hit you for a six’. Anyone else? 😂 #INDvENG
— Chloe-Amanda Bailey (@ChloeAmandaB) March 26, 2021
Well played, Rishabh Pant – 77 runs from just 40 balls including 3 fours and 7 sixes – 54 runs through boundaries – Mad guy been consistent in all formats of the game. #INDvENG pic.twitter.com/4sShz1jrx7
— Johns. (@CricCrazyJohns) March 26, 2021
What a knock by Rishabh Pant, scored his highest ever One Day score. 77 in just 40 balls, the carnage he creates with his batting is simply magnificent. pic.twitter.com/WfZfJ5MB1q
— Mufaddal Vohra (@mufaddal_vohra) March 26, 2021