Rohit Sharma To Lead India Against Bangladesh, Shivam Dube Gets Maiden Call-up
By CricShots - Oct 24, 2019 5:05 pm
Views 414

On Thursday, the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has announced India’s T20I squad for the upcoming T20I series against Bangladesh. According to the expectations, Sanju Samson and Shivam Dube have earned call-ups with Samson making a comeback for the former after a four-year-long wait.

Sanju Samson makes a comeback

However, Rishabh Pant has also been picked as the lone wicket-keeper despite all the criticism and it will be interesting to see if both him and Samson will get a chance in the playing XI during the series. The regular Indian skipper, Virat Kohli has been rested as Rohit Sharma will take charge as the captain for this series.

Not many changes have been made to the whole squad which faced South Africa in September. Kuldeep Yadav continues to stay out of the team with Rahul Chahar likely to get more chances in this series to prove his mettle.

ALSO READ: World’s Largest Stadium In India To Be Inaugurated With A World XI Match?

Shreyas Iyer and Manish Pandey have managed to retain their position as former gave a good account of himself against South Africa and is once again likely to play ahead of Pandey again. Shivam Dube has replaced Hardik Pandya in the squad and is likely to play all the three matches as the selection committee looks to create a back up for the latter.

Shivam Dube gets India call-up

Both Samson and Dube has scored a plethora of runs in the Vijay Hazare Trophy playing much-needed knocks for their respective teams and were rewarded for the same. Ravindra Jadeja and Navdeep Saini are not the part of the T20I squad with Yuzvendra Chahal and Shardul Thakur replacing them.

The three-match T20I series is scheduled to commence on November 3 in Delhi with the other two matches to be played in Rajkot and Nagpur on November 7 and 10 respectively.

ALSO READ: MS Dhoni To Start Playing Competitive Cricket In January

Meanwhile, the squad for the two-match Test series has been unchanged. India whitewashed South Africa in the recently concluded three-match series and there was no need to change anything for them. The two-match Test series will commence on November 14 in Indore with the second Test scheduled to play at the Eden Gardens in Kolkata.

India T20I squad: Rohit Sharma(Capt), Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul, Sanju Samson, Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Rishabh Pant(wk), Washington Sundar, Krunal Pandya, Yuzvendra Chahal, Rahul Chahar, Deepak Chahar, Khaleel Ahmed, Shivam Dube, Shardul Thakur

T20 series schedule

  • 1st T20I, November 3 (Sunday) at Feroz Shah Kotla Ground, New Delhi
  • 2nd T20I, November 7 (Thursday) at Saurashtra Cricket Association ground, Rajkot (Gujarat)
  • 3rd T20I, November 10 (Sunday) at Vidarbha Cricket Association Stadium, Nagpur (Maharashtra)

India Test squad: Virat Kohli (Capt), Rohit Sharma, Mayank Agarwal, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane, Hanuma Vihari, Saha (wk), R Jadeja, R Ashwin, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Umesh Yadav, Ishant Sharma, Shubman Gill, Rishabh Pant.

Test Series schedule

  • 1st Test, November 14-18 (Thursday-Monday) at Holkar Stadium, Indore (Madhya Pradesh)
  • 2nd Test, November 22-26 (Friday-Tuesday) at Eden Gardens, Kolkata (Bengal)