Rohit Sharma Forgot What To Do After Winning The Toss In Raipur
By CricShots - Jan 21, 2023 1:25 pm
Views 15

Team India and New Zealand are locking horns with each other in the second game of the three-match ODI series at the Shaheed Veer Narayan Singh International Stadium in Raipur. The venue becomes the 50th international venue in India. During the toss, the Indian skipper, Rohit Sharma won the toss and for a brief movement, he forgot what to do, but he eventually decided to bowl first.

Rohit Sharma
Rohit Sharma and Tom Latham during the toss

After the toss when Ravi Shastri asked what happened, Rohit Sharma said, “I forgot what we wanted to do, had plenty of discussions with the team about the toss decision, just wanted to challenge ourselves under difficult conditions, but we’ll bowl first. Was a good test for us, knowing that the wicket will get better to bat on and that was the challenge in front of us.”

ALSO READ: Harmanpreet Kaur Eagerly Looking Forward To The Women’s IPL

He further added, “Bracewell batted well, but we bowled well in the end and won the game. There was a bit of dew during the practice sessions, but we’ve heard from the curator that it will not play a role on game days. We batted first in Hyderabad, we wanted to bowl first here, same team.”

On the other hand, the Kiwi skipper, Tom Latham said, “We would have bowled first as well, 1st international game here, so not sure how this wicket will play. Great last game, executed well in the bat and hoping to do the same here. Looking to take back the experience, it’s important to win games, but the experience of playing in these conditions will be handy as well. Ish (Sodhi) still hasn’t pulled up well, so we’re playing the same team.”

ALSO READ: Yuzvendra Chahal Gives A Dressing Room Tour Ahead Of Raipur ODI

New Zealand (Playing XI): Finn Allen, Devon Conway, Henry Nicholls, Daryl Mitchell, Tom Latham(w/c), Glenn Phillips, Michael Bracewell, Mitchell Santner, Henry Shipley, Lockie Ferguson, Blair Tickner

India (Playing XI): Rohit Sharma(c), Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Ishan Kishan(w), Suryakumar Yadav, Hardik Pandya, Washington Sundar, Shardul Thakur, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Mohammed Siraj