Rohit Sharma Opens Up On Virat Kohli Opening In T20 World Cup
By SMCS - Sep 18, 2022 3:00 pm
Views 528

Rohit Sharma-led Team India will play against Australia next in a three-match T20I series, beginning Tuesday in Mohali. Ahead of the match, skipper Rohit Sharma addressed a press conference on Sunday where he opined on what to expect and whether Virat Kohli will open in the shortest format.

Virat Kohli
Virat Kohli and KL Rahul

“It is always nice to have options available for you. It is important going into a World Cup that you have flexibility. You want the players to be in best shape batting at any position. When we try and do something new, that does not mean that’s a problem,” said Rohit during a press conference. “For us, we understand the quality of all our players and what they bring for us. But yeah, it is an option (Virat Kohli opening) for us, we will always keep that in mind. Since we have not taken a third opener, he opens for his franchise in the IPL and he has done really well, so it is a definite option for us.”

READ HERE: India will struggle if Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma don’t score, says Mohammad Hafeez

He again shared whether Virat will open the batting in the upcoming series. He even opened up on KL Rahul’s performance with the bat as well.

Virat Kohli
Virat Kohli played a dependable knock

Rohit Sharma said: “Virat Kohli is our third opener and he will open in some of the games. In the last match of Asia Cup, we were happy with the way he played. But KL Rahul will open the batting in the World Cup, we do not want to experiment with that position a lot, his performance sometimes goes quite unnoticed.”

READ MORE: Yuzvendra Chahal Opens Up On Rumors Of Divorce With Dhanashree Verma

“He is a very important player for Team India. For us, I just want to make it clear, we are clear in our thought process. We do not have any confusion, we are very clear what KL Rahul brings to the table for us, he is a quality player and is very important for us. His presence at the top is very crucial for us,” Rohit Sharma concluded.

India squad for the Australia series: Rohit Sharma (c), KL Rahul (vice-captain), Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Deepak Hooda, Rishabh Pant, Dinesh Karthik, Hardik Pandya, R. Ashwin, Yuzvendra Chahal, Axar Patel, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Harshal Patel, Deepak Chahar, Jasprit Bumrah, Umesh Yadav.