RP Singh Predicts The 15-member Indian Squad For The T20 World Cup
By CricShots - Sep 12, 2022 2:03 pm
Views 25

Former Indian seamer, RP Singh, one of India’s heroes for their successful T20 World Cup campaign back in 2007, has predicted the Indian squad for the upcoming T20 World Cup starting next month. Among a few interesting choices, Singh has picked Kuldeep Yadav while there is no place for Harshal Patel.

Bhuvneshwar Kumar
Team India

India’s T20 World Cup squad will be expected to be announced in near future, and many former cricketers have publicly revealed their preferred squad for the mega-event. RP Singh is also one of the former cricketers who has gone with the trend. However, in his 15-member squad, Harshal Patel, who is reportedly fit after recovering from a shin injury at the NCA in Bengaluru, has failed to make the cut.

ALSO READ: Dasun Shanaka Dedicates Sri Lanka’s Asia Cup 2022 Win To The Whole Nation

Speaking with India TV Cricket on Saturday, RP Singh highlighted why his two interesting choices — Mohammed Shami and Kuldeep Yadav — have the potential to do wonders in Australia in the upcoming marquee event. At the same time, the former India left-handed fast bowler also remarked the Men in Blue, led by Rohit Sharma, are no longer the tournament favorites after their miserable show in the recently-concluded Asia Cup.

RP Singh also reckons KL Rahul, who has been frequently criticized because of his questionable strike rate in the format, will definitely get a place.

RP Singh
RP Singh

During a chat with India TV, RP Singh said, “After their performance in the Asia Cup, India won’t go to the T20 World Cup as favorites. If you really want to earn that trophy, you need to do minimal changes in the squad and back the 11-12 players in the upcoming games against Australia and South Africa. If you continue to shuffle, it will only cause more confusion.”

WATCH – Fans Wearing Indian Jersey Were Barred From Witnessing Asia Cup Final, A Fan Finds A Unique Way

He further added, “I will pick Shami because the pace and bounce will help him bowl back of a length which is his strength. I have also added Kuldeep Yadav because even he can exploit the bounce factor in Australia. KL Rahul might not be in the XI but will definitely be a part of the squad.”

RP Singh’s India Squad For the next T20 World Cup:

Rohit Sharma (C), Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant, Hardik Pandya, Dinesh Karthik, Axar Patel, Mohammed Shami, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah, Arshdeep Singh, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, KL Rahul, Deepak Chahar.

Reserves: Sanju Samson, Deepak Hooda, Ravichandran Ashwin.