Sanju Samson Takes A Brilliant Diving Catch To Dismiss Takudzwanashe Kaitano
By CricShots - Aug 20, 2022 3:20 pm
Views 278

Zimbabwe learned its lessons after a comprehensive defeat in the first ODI at the hands of India, and they subsequently took an entirely different approach in the second ODI. The openers offered plenty more resistance in the second ODI, however, failed to extend their inning for long. Mohammed Siraj drew first blood for India as he provided his team with the all-important first breakthrough, getting rid of Takudzwanashe Kaitano as Sanju Samson took a stunning catch.

Sanju Samson
Sanju Samson

The Indian pacer bowled an excellent delivery, which forced the Zimbabwe opener to throw his bat as the ball took a healthy edge. Sanju Samson meanwhile dived towards his right and completed a sensational one-handed catch.

ALSO READ: Ajay Jadeja Reckons Axar Patel Is Giving Tough Competition To Ravindra Jadeja

The incident happened in the ninth over of Zimbabwe’s innings. Mohammed Siraj came up with a full-length delivery in the penultimate ball of the over, which left Kaitano with no choice but to play the ball. He could, however, only edge it to Sanju Samson, who showcased immensely impressive reflexes to come up with a mind-blowing effort.

Here is the video of the catch taken by Sanju Samson:

Meanwhile, the wicket of Takudzwanashe Kaitano opened the floodgates as Zimbabwe witnessed three more dismissals shortly after and could only score 19 runs in the meantime. Shardul Thakur and Prasidh Krishna also joined the party as they reduced the hosts to 31/4 at one point in the first innings.

ALSO READ: Steve Harmison fears for Ben Stokes’ Test career

In the previous game too, Zimbabwe had suffered a similar collapse, but their lower order offered a good account of themselves, and they were able to score 189 runs before getting all out. It remains to be seen how they fare in the second ODI. 

Zimbabwe (Playing XI): Innocent Kaia, Takudzwanashe Kaitano, Wesley Madhevere, Sean Williams, Sikandar Raza, Regis Chakabva (c & wk), Ryan Burl, Luke Jongwe, Brad Evans, Victor Nyauchi, Tanaka Chivanga

India (Playing XI): Shikhar Dhawan, Shubman Gill, Ishan Kishan, KL Rahul (c), Deepak Hooda, Sanju Samson (wk), Axar Patel, Shardul Thakur, Kuldeep Yadav, Prasidh Krishna, Mohammed Siraj