Sanju Samson To Lead India ‘A’ For The One-Day Series Against New Zealand ‘A’
By CricShots - Sep 16, 2022 4:22 pm
Views 54

On Friday, the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) announced a 16-member squad for the upcoming One-day series between India A and New Zealand A that would be held in Chennai’s M A Chidambaram Stadium from 22nd September to 27th September. Sanju Samson will be leading the India A side and Prithvi Shaw would be making his return to white ball cricket in this three-match series.

Sanju Samson
Sanju Samson

The fiery pacer, Umran Malik, who had earlier played for India on the back of consistent performances in IPL 2022, also finds a place in the ‘A’ squad alongside fellow seamers, Kuldeep Sen, Shardul Thakur, Navdeep Saini, and Raj Angad Bawa. Bawa had been a part of the Chennai Super Kings in the IPL this year, as he was picked following consistent outings for the boys in blue in the U19 World Cup in February.

ALSO READ: Venkatesh Iyer Stretchered Off the Ground After Suffering A Blow On His Neck

Ruturaj Gaikwad and Abhimanyu Easwaran have also been picked for the three-match series while youngster Tilak Varma, who earned a name for himself with his impressive performances for the Mumbai Indians in the 2022 season, has been selected as well.

Alongside Sanju Samson, KS Bharat has also been called up as another wicketkeeper in the squad. Among spinners, Kuldeep Yadav, Rahul Chahar, and Shahbaz Ahmed lead the attack. Samson had been playing a crucial role for Team India following the IPL but didn’t find a place in the side for the Asia Cup 2022.

ALSO READ: Mumbai Indians Appoints Mark Boucher As Their Head Coach

After the emergence of Dinesh Karthik and Rishabh Pant’s already-cemented spot in the wicketkeeping role, Sanju Samson failed to break into the 15-member squad for the T20 World Cup 2022 as well. However, the wicket-keeper batter will be aiming for consistent outings as skipper in the ‘A’ series against New Zealand.

INDIA A Squad: Prithvi Shaw, Abhimanyu Easwaran, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Rahul Tripathi, Rajat Patidar, Sanju Samson (Captain), KS Bharat (wicket-keeper), Kuldeep Yadav, Shabhaz Ahmed, Rahul Chahar, Tilak Varma, Kuldeep Sen, Shardul Thakur, Umran Malik, Navdeep Saini, Raj Angad Bawa