Schedule For The First Edition Of Global T20 League Announced
By CricShots - Aug 28, 2017 1:22 pm
Views 0
Global T20 League

The schedule for the very first season of Global T20 League in South Africa has been finalized and the much-awaited tournament is scheduled to kick-off on November 3. The first match will be played at Newlands between Cape Town Knight Riders taking on Pretoria Mavericks.

The inaugural match will witness the stalwarts like AB de Villiers, Dwayne Bravo and Morne Morkel going head-to-head against the team that has Chris Gayle, JP Duminy and Dale Steyn in their squad.

The tournament will consist of 57 matches and that will be played over a period of 44 days with double headers scheduled for every weekend. The two teams that finish on top following after the conclusion of the group stage on December 13 will face-off in the final scheduled to be held on December 16 at the Wanderers in Johannesburg.

Talking about the T20 League, tournament director, Russell Adams said, “There is quite literally going to be non stop action of the highest international quality from the League opener on November 3 right through to the final on December 16. Can you imagine the excitement on our opening night at iconic Newlands when two of the greatest players in the history of the T20 format. AB de Villiers of the Pretoria Mavericks and Chris Gayle of the Cape Town Knight Riders go head to head.”

He further added, “There will be similar excitement as the League moves around the country to our other host venues with a myriad of international and South African stars in action.”

As per the reports, it has been seen that each franchise has a local marquee player and an international marquee player in their 18-member squad.